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ARTICLE 1
Recognition Agreement

1:1 Pursuant to Chapter 123, Public Laws of 1974, State of New Jersey, the Board recognizes the
Association as the exclusive representative for the purpose of collective negotiations concerning the terms
and conditions of employment for all full-time certificated personnel under contract to the Board.

Including:
Classroom Teachers
Summer School Teachers
Home Instruction Teachers
Guidance Personnel
Learning Disability Consultants
Nursing Personnel
*Part Time Teachers
School Psychologists
School Social Workers
Speech Therapists
Occupational Therapists
Physical Therapists
12 month teacher/facilitator
Athletic Trainer
Teacher Resource Specialists

But excluding: Superintendent
Directors
Principals
Assistant Principals
Business Administrators
Administrative Assistants
Certificates for the State of New Jersey
*Per Diem Teachers
All other personnel of the Board not specifically included above.

1:2 Unless otherwise indicated, the term "teacher"”, when used hereafter in this Agreement, shall refer to all
certificated employees represented by the Association in the negotiating unit as above defined.

*DEFINITIONS:

Part-time teachers are defined as teachers employed under contract who work fifty percent or more time but
less than 100 percent.

Per Diem Teachers are defined as teachers whose salary is computed on a daily basis.



ARTICLE 2
Negotiation Procedure

2:1 The parties agree to enter into collective negotiations over a successor Agreement in accordance with
Chapter 123, Public Laws of 1974, State of New Jersey, in a good-faith effort to reach agreement on all
matters concerning the terms and conditions of teacher's employment. Such negotiations shall begin not
later than October 1st of the calendar year preceding the calendar year in which this agreement expires.
Any agreement so negotiated shall apply to all members of the unit as defined, be reduced to writing,
signed by the Board and the Association, be ratified by the Association, and be adopted by the Board.

2:2 Neither party in any negotiations shall have any control over the selection of the negotiating
representatives of the other party.

2:3 Pursuant to Chapter 123, the Board of Education agrees not to conduct negotiations concerning terms
and conditions of employment with anyone other than the representative as defined in Article 1, for the
term of this Agreement.

2:4 This Agreement incorporates the entire understanding of the parties on all matters which were or could
have been the subject of negotiations. During the term of this Agreement, neither party shall be required to
negotiate with respect to any such matter whether or not covered by this Agreement and whether or not
within the knowledge or contemplation of either or both of the parties at the time they negotiated or
executed this Agreement.

2:5 This Agreement shall not be modified in whole or part except by an instrument in writing duly executed
by both parties.

2:6 A minimum of two meetings will be scheduled each month during negotiations. Notification of any
cancellation will be made at least 24 hours prior to the beginning of the scheduled meeting, except in case
of emergency.



ARTICLE 3
Grievance Procedure

3:1 A "grievance" shall mean a complaint by a teacher that there has been either a personal loss, injury, or
inconvenience because of a violation, misinterpretation or inequitable application of Board policy, this
Agreement or an administrative decision, affecting the terms and conditions of teacher employment as
covered by this Agreement. A grievance to be considered under this procedure must be initiated by the
teacher within twenty (20) work days from the time when the teacher knew or should have known of its
occurrence.

3:2 PURPOSE - The purpose of this procedure is to secure, at the lowest possible level, equitable solutions
to grievances. Both parties agree that these proceedings will be kept as informal and confidential as may be
appropriate at any level of the procedure.

3:3 PROCEDURE
3:3:1 Failure at any step of this procedure to communicate the decision on a grievance within the
specified time limits shall be deemed a rejection of the grievance and permit the aggrieved teacher
to proceed to the next step. Failure at any step of this procedure to appeal a grievance to the next
step within the specified time limits shall be deemed to be acceptance of the decision rendered at
that step.

3:3:2 It is understood that teachers shall, during and notwithstanding, the pendency of any
grievance, continue to observe all assignments and applicable rules and regulations of the Board
until such grievance and any effect thereof shall have been fully determined.

3:4 LEVEL ONE - Any teacher who has a grievance shall discuss it first with his/her immediate supervisor
or principal in an attempt to resolve the matter informally. A teacher who holds a coaching position and
has a grievance related to that position would begin the process with the Director of Athletics. If, as a
result of this discussion, the matter is not resolved satisfactorily within five (5) working days, the grievance
shall move to level two.

3:5 LEVEL TWO - The grievant shall set forth the grievance in writing to the immediate supervisor or
principal, specifying:

a. The nature of the grievance;

b. The nature and extent of the injury, loss or inconvenience;
c. The result of previous discussions; and

d. The dissatisfaction with decisions previously rendered.

The immediate supervisor or principal shall communicate a decision to the grievant in writing within ten
(10) working days of receipt of the written grievance.

3:6 LEVEL THREE - The grievant, no later than five (5) working days after receipt of the decision in the
foregoing step, may appeal the decision to the Superintendent of Schools.

The appeal to the Superintendent must be made in writing, reciting the matter as specified above and the
grievant's dissatisfaction with the decisions previously rendered. The Superintendent shall attempt to
resolve the matter as promptly as possible, but within a period not to exceed fifteen (15) working days. The



Superintendent shall communicate the decision in writing to the grievant and the principal and/or
immediate supervisor.

3:7 LEVEL FOUR - No claim by a teacher shall constitute a grievable matter beyond Level Three or be
processed beyond Level Three if it pertains to:

a. Any matter for which a method of review is prescribed by law or any rule or regulation of the
State Commissioner of Education or any matter which according to law is either beyond the scope
of Board authority or limited to action of the Board alone.

b. A complaint of a non-tenured teacher which arises by reason of not being re-employed.

c. A complaint by any certificated teacher occasioned by appointment to retention in, or lack of
retention in any position for which tenure is either not possible or not required.

3:7:1 If the teacher is dissatisfied with the decision of the Superintendent and if the grievance
pertains to a violation of this Agreement between the Board and the Association, the teacher or the
Association may request the appointment of an arbitrator, such request to be made known to the
Superintendent no later than 10 working days after the decision, in writing to the Superintendent.

3:7:2 A teacher, in order to process the grievance beyond Level Three, must have the request for
such action accompanied by the written recommendation for such action by the Association.

3:7:3 Within ten calendar days after such written notice of submission to arbitration, the
Superintendent and the Association shall attempt to agree upon a mutually acceptable arbitrator.
The following procedure will be used to secure the services of an arbitrator.

a. A joint request shall be made to the Public Employment Relations Commission to submit a roster
of persons qualified to function as an arbitrator in the dispute in question.

b. If the parties are unable to agree upon a mutually satisfactory arbitrator from the list submitted,
they will request the Public Employment Relations Commission to submit a second list.

c. If the parties are unable to agree, within ten calendar days of the initial request for arbitration,
upon a mutually satisfactory arbitrator from the second submitted list, the Public Employment
Relations Commission may be requested by either party to designate an arbitrator. The arbitrator
shall be limited to the issues submitted and shall consider nothing else. The arbitrator can add
nothing to, nor subtract anything from, the agreement between the parties or any policy of the Board
of Education. The recommendation of the arbitrator shall be binding on both parties. Only the
Board, the teacher, the teacher's representative, the Association and the principal and/or immediate
supervisor shall receive copies of the arbitrator's report. This shall be accomplished within fifteen
(15) working days of the completion of the arbitration hearings.

3:8 COSTS OF ARBITRATION

3:8.1 Each party shall bear the total cost incurred by itself.



3:8.2 The fees and expenses of the arbitrator are the only costs which shall be shared by the two
parties and such cost will be shared equally.

3:9 Whenever by mutual agreement of the parties, any representative of the Association or any teacher
participates in grievance proceedings during working hours, that person shall suffer no loss in pay.

3:10 Any aggrieved person may be represented at all stages of the grievance procedure by a representative
selected by the grievant.



ARTICLE 4
Rights of the Parties

4:1 Pursuant to Chapter 123, Public Laws 1974, State of New Jersey, public employees included in the
negotiating unit have, and shall be protected in the exercise of, the right, freely and without fear of penalty
or reprisal, to form, join, and assist any employee organization or refrain from any such activity. As a duly
selected body exercising governmental powers under cover of the Laws of the State of New Jersey, the
Board undertakes and agrees that it shall not directly or indirectly discourage or deprive or coerce any
teacher in the enjoyment of any rights conferred by Chapter 123, Public Laws 1974, State of New Jersey, or
other laws of New Jersey, or the Constitution of New Jersey and the United States.

4:2 The Board of Education, subject only to the language of Chapter 123, Public Laws 1974, State of New
Jersey, and this Agreement reserves to itself full jurisdiction and authority over matters of policy and
retains the right, in accordance with applicable laws and regulations (a) to direct employees of the school
district; (b) to hire, promote, transfer, assign, and retain employees in positions within the school district
and to suspend, demote, discharge, or take other disciplinary action against employees; (c) to relieve
employees from duties because of lack of work, or for other legitimate reasons; (d) to maintain the
efficiency of the school district operations entrusted to them; (e) to determine the methods, means and
personnel by which such operations are to be conducted; and (f) to take whatever actions might be
necessary to carry out the mission of the school district in situations of emergency.

4:3 No teacher shall be disciplined without just cause.

4:4 Representatives of the Association shall be permitted to transact official Association business on school
property at all reasonable times, provided that this shall not interfere with, or interrupt, normal school
operations and that approval has been granted by the appropriate administrator. Such approval shall not be
withheld unreasonably.

4:5 Representatives of the Association shall be permitted to use school office equipment at all reasonable
times, provided that this shall not interfere with normal school operations and provided that approval has
been granted by the appropriate administrator. Such approval shall not be unreasonably withheld.

4:6 The Association shall have, in each school building, the use of a bulletin board in each faculty room.
The Association shall also be assigned adequate space on the bulletin board in the central office of each
school building for Association meeting notices provided copies are presented in advance of posting to the
appropriate administrator.

4:7 The Association shall have the right to reasonable use of the school mailboxes and the inter-school mail
facilities. A courtesy copy of general Association mailings shall be placed in the Superintendent's and
principal's mailboxes. The responsibility for the contents of the communications sits wholly with the
author. The Association agrees to hold the Board harmless in the event of claims arising out of the
distribution of Association materials.

4:8 In the posting of the Association materials and the use of mail boxes, a designated Association
representative shall indicate the responsibility for such posting or mailing by signing the material being
posted or mailed or by marking with the stamp of the Association.



4:9 Whenever any teacher is required to appear before the Board or any officer of the Board, or any
committee thereof concerning any matter which could adversely affect the continuation of that teacher in
the office, position, or employment or the salary or any increments pertaining thereto, then the teacher shall
be given prior written notice of the reasons for such meeting or interview and shall be entitled to have a
representative of the Association present to advise the teacher and represent the teacher during such
meeting or interview.

4:10 No teacher shall be prevented from wearing pins or other identification of membership in the
Association or its affiliates.

4:11 Whenever, by mutual agreement of the parties, any representative of the Association or any teacher
participates in negotiations during working hours, the teacher shall suffer no loss in pay.

4:12.1 The Board shall grant the President of the West Windsor-Plainsboro Education Association
the elimination of supervisory duties for a high school teacher, or in the case of an elementary
teacher, his/her presence will not be required until the start of instructional time to perform his/her
duties. In addition, the Board will release the President from in-service days and the President and
or one other Association officer for a 1/2 day per month to perform his/her duties, with no loss in

pay.

4:12.2 Inlieu of 4:12.1, the Association President may choose on an annual basis to be released
from all duties. If the President is a middle school or high school teacher, the president may
alternatively choose on an annual basis to be released from duties on a part time basis. The Board
will pay full salary and benefits while the release time is in effect, but the Association shall
reimburse the Board monthly for full salary or partial salary, whichever applies. Seniority and
length of service in the district shall continue to accrue. This paragraph expires on June 30, 2019.

4:13 The Board shall grant the 1% and 2nd Vice Presidents, the Building Vice Presidents, Treasurer,
Secretaries, and the Grievance Chairperson of the West Windsor-Plainsboro Education Association the
elimination of supervisory duties for a high school teacher, or in the case of an elementary teacher, at least a
30 minute block of release time will be provided during the school day. The Negotiations Vice President
shall be relieved of all supervisory duties.

4:14 The rights and privileges of the Association and its representatives, as set forth in this Agreement,
shall be granted to the Association, as the exclusive representative of the teachers, and to no other teacher
representative organizations.

4:15 Each teacher is entitled to an adequate work space for handling all work-related paperwork and to a
safe location to lock personal belongings. Except where space is limited, each teacher will have an
individual lockable desk and lockable file cabinet/file drawer. Where space is limited, each teacher will
have at least a lockable file cabinet/drawer and a suitable work space.



ARTICLE S
School Calendar and Work Year

5:1 Prior to March 1st of each year, a committee designated by the Association, shall make
recommendations to the Superintendent concerning the school calendar prior to its adoption by the Board.

5:2 The Board, in determining said school calendar, shall consider the recommendations of the Association
prior to the adoption of the official school calendar.

5:3 The scheduled in-school work year for teachers employed on a ten month basis, other than new teachers
who may be required to attend additional orientation days, shall not exceed 186 days. Unused inclement
weather days will be eliminated from the school year. The actual in-school work year shall be 183 days. It
is within the Board’s discretion to determine each school year which days, if any, shall be early dismissal
days for students and/or teachers; however, the day before Thanksgiving and the day before winter break
shall remain early dismissal days for students and teachers; and parent/teacher conference days shall remain
early dismissal days for students only. (See also 6:1.4).

5:3.1 The number of student instructional days shall not exceed 180. Work days in addition to
student instructional days shall be used for professional development.

5:3.2 In the event that any school(s) is closed on a student instructional day(s), prior to the
completion of an official student day under the Education Laws (e.g., when due to inclement
weather, lack of power, lack of water or other circumstances), the Board reserves the right to cancel
a professional development day(s) for affected staff, and use that day as a student instructional
day(s), in order to make up the lost student day(s).

5:3.3 The Board may require that teachers new to the District attend up to five (5) additional
professional development days during the summer recess before and after their first year of service.
The total number of days over the two (2) periods of summer recess shall not exceed five (5) days.
These days are without compensation. The additional professional development days for new
teachers include teachers who return to the District after resignation. Summer recess is defined as
the period between the last day of school for teachers in one school year, and the first day of school
for teachers in the next school year; however, the additional professional development days must
take place within five (5) weekdays (not counting holidays) of the beginning and/or end of the work
year for these teachers.

5:4 The in-school work year shall include days when pupils are in session, orientation days and any other
days when teachers' attendance is required.

5:5 Principals will make every effort to schedule back-to-school nights in such a manner that teachers will
only be in attendance at one back-to-school night.



ARTICLE 6
Teaching Hours and Teaching Load

6:1 As a professional, a teacher is expected to devote to this work the time necessary to accomplish the
task at hand. The Association agrees that a teacher's day is not necessarily coterminous with that of a pupil.
However, it shall be no less than that which is established for the pupils. The school day for teachers shall
not exceed seven hours and fifteen minutes consecutively, except where teachers remain during school
emergencies to protect the health and safety of children.

Teachers shall not be required to attend or supervise after school or evening activities such as dances, plays,
concerts, movie nights, athletic contests, etc. unless there are no qualified volunteers or insufficient
qualified volunteers available. Any teacher assigned to an activity will be paid the appropriate contractual
rate. Teachers who have evening activities directly related to classroom assignments would be expected to
attend these activities. Teachers of music, for example, would be expected to attend and conduct a concert.
Class or activity advisors who receive an extra-duty pay stipend would attend an after-school event
involving their group.

6:1.1 No teacher shall be required to attend more than four (4) meetings in any month.

6:1.2 Every effort shall be made to restrict the times for meetings referred to in 6:1.1 to one hour
beyond the time that teachers can be expected to be present for the start of such meetings at the end
of a school day. The same effort shall be made when staff members from more than one school are
meeting together.

6:1.3 Other committees and meetings are permitted under the terms of this Agreement, however, it
is understood by the parties that teacher participation in such committees or meetings is voluntary.

6:1.4 Teachers may be required to attend one evening parent conference. Such conference shall be
scheduled on a reduced day and shall not be scheduled for longer than the time reduced from the
regular work day and shall end no later than 8:00pm.

6:1.5 Each teacher shall be required to complete online training to cover those topics that are
assigned by the Administration to fulfill requirements of federal laws and regulations, state laws and
regulations, and/or Board of Education policies and regulations. Once the total number of training
minutes is determined, for each hour of online training, a teacher will be exempt from being
required to attend one mandatory meeting, as described in 6:1.1 of the Collective Bargaining
Agreement. Calculation of hours will be rounded to the nearest hour.

6:2 All teachers shall have a duty-free lunch period pursuant to Commissioner's regulations.

6:3 Teachers shall indicate their arrival and departure from the buildings by initialing the "sign-in/sign-out"
roster.

6:4 Teachers may leave the building without requesting permission during their scheduled duty-free lunch
period, but they must indicate their leaving and return by initialing the faculty "sign-in/sign-out” roster.

6:5 (a)Grade 6 through 12 classroom teachers, shall in addition to their duty-free lunch period, have
preparation time of at least four hundred (400) minutes per week (with not less than forty (40) minutes of



preparation time per day). No duty period shall exceed sixty (60) minutes, and total assigned teaching and
duty minutes shall not exceed 1,280 in any week during the school year subject to the limitations set forth
in Article 6:8 with no more than two (2) duty periods per week. The foregoing minimum preparation time
includes planning time at the middle school level, however, if a teacher has only one (1) preparation period
on a given day, that preparation period shall not be a common planning period. During this preparation
time, teachers will not be assigned to any other duty. The duty-free lunch period shall be not less than forty
one (41) minutes per day.

(b) Teachers represented by the Association shall continue to be eligible to supervise lunches at the middle
schools and high schools provided they apply for such positions. Those teachers accepted for such
assignments shall be compensated at the negotiated annual stipend for lunch duty as set forth in the
collective bargaining agreement and shall not be assigned to a duty outside the lunch period. Teachers who
perform lunch duty period supervision shall be entitled to a duty-free 41-minute lunch. Teachers shall be
permitted to consume lunch while performing the supervision.

(c) Elementary classroom teachers, shall in addition to their duty-free lunch period, have forty (40) minutes
of daily preparation time, during which they shall not be assigned to any other duties.

(d) Elementary teachers shall have at least six (6) forty (40) minute blocks of preparation time per week.
During this preparation time, teachers will not be assigned to any other duty.

(e) In lieu of the preparation time for elementary teachers set forth in Article 6:5(c) and 6:5(d), elementary
teachers may, in addition to their duty free lunch period, be scheduled for a minimum of 250 minutes of
preparation time per week, in no less than 30-minute blocks of time, with no less than one 40 minute block
of preparation time each day.

6:6 World language teachers at the elementary level shall receive preparation time under the terms and
conditions set forth in Articles 6:5(c), 6:5(d) or 6:5(¢); however, they may be assigned no more than eight
(8) teaching periods per day and no more than thirty six (36) teaching periods per week.

6:7 When possible, every effort shall be made to limit the number to three preparations assigned to
secondary teachers. Departmental staff teachers shall be consulted in the development of such assignments.

6:8 Teachers in the middle school and high school grades six (6) through twelve (12) shall not be required
to have more than five (5) teaching periods per day, and not more than twelve hundred thirty (1230)
teaching minutes per week.

6:9 A supervisory period is one in which a teacher supervises children while they work independently. A
teacher shall not be involved in any type of formal instruction during this period.

6:10 Twice a year, with the approval of the principal, teachers will be provided with a half-day of release
time to perform professional non-instructional activities.

6:11 Teachers who are required to travel between buildings during some part of their lunch period or
planning period in the course of their employment shall be paid a $1200 stipend per year, pro-rated
according to the number of days traveled or shall be guaranteed a lunch period and a professional planning
period which cannot be used for travel time.

10



6:12 Flextime assignments shall only be available to tenured staff. They may voluntarily accept or reject a
flextime assignment which begins and ends the workday earlier or later than the contractual workday. The
acceptance of a flextime assignment will be effective for the entire school year. Positions shall be posted,
as are all other positions in the contract. Assignments shall be offered annually.

6:13 Twelve Month Employees

Twelve month staff (teacher/facilitator) will be covered by all aspects of the contract related to ten month
staff, with the following exceptions:

6:13.1 12 month staff shall receive thirteen (13) vacation days per year during their first five (5)
years of service. After the first five years of service, the number of vacation days shall be 20 days
per year.

6:13.2 Vacation days may be accumulated up to a maximum of 45.

6:13.3 Accumulated vacation days beyond the 45 days shall be converted to sick leave, however,
no person may increase his/her total accumulation of unused sick days by more than 15 days in one
year.

6:13.4 If a twelve month staff member becomes a ten month staff member, he/she will be
compensated for any unused vacation time at the rate of 1/240 of his/her 12 month salary.

6:13.5 Vacation days for 12 month staff must be approved by their Supervisor. If the 12 month
staff member has teaching responsibilities, his/her vacation schedule must also be approved by their
Building Principal.

6:13.6 The holiday schedule for 12 month staff shall be the same as for administrators, with the
addition of two (2) days off for NJEA convention. The total number of holidays, including floating
holidays and NJEA convention days, shall be 22 per school year.

6:13.7 12 month staff shall receive 14 sick days per year.

6:13.8 12 month staff may be required to work one hour a day more than 10 month staff throughout
the calendar year.

6:13.9 The salary of the 12 month staff shall be computed at the appropriate 10 month teacher base
salary, step, longevity and educational level, plus an additional 20 percent.

6:13.10 The regular teaching load for a 12 month teacher/facilitator shall not exceed one teaching
period per day. A 12 month teacher/facilitator who is called into work outside of his/her regular
work time by the Director of Technology (or designee) shall be compensated at the hourly rate set
forth in Article 11:2.

11



ARTICLE 7
Class Size

7:1 The number of students to be taught in a particular class is determined in part by the adequacy of the
physical facilities and the nature of the course offered.

ARTICLE 8
Evaluation

8:1 The Board and the Association agree that an evaluation of the teacher is essential to uphold the
standards of the school system.

8:2 All teachers shall be evaluated in writing by appropriate certified supervisory staff. Non-tenured
teachers shall be evaluated a minimum of three (3) times per year. A copy of any observation or evaluation
report shall be presented to the teacher at least three (3) days prior to any conference to discuss said report.
However, it is understood by the parties that this requirement in no way precludes informal discussions of
said observation or evaluation by the observer or evaluator prior to the writing of said report. The formal
conference pertaining to the observation or evaluation report shall occur not later than ten (10) school days
from the time of such observation or evaluation.

8:3 Each teacher shall be presented with a copy of the evaluation prior to its submission to the
Superintendent. The appropriate certified supervisor who conducted the evaluation/observation and the
classroom teacher will confer on the positive aspects and weaknesses of the teacher. No evaluations are to
be submitted to the Superintendent without offering the teacher an opportunity for signature. The teacher's
signature would not necessarily indicate approval of the evaluation, but simply that the teacher has had an
opportunity to see the material to be filed. A teacher shall have the right to designate particular areas of
disapproval and may request an explanation and the basis for the evaluation in writing. A teacher may
request a conference with the Superintendent.

8:4 The sources of all complaints to be acted upon verbally or in writing regarding a teacher, made to any
member of the Administration by any parent, student or other persons shall be made known to the teacher,
and shall be promptly investigated. The teacher shall be given the opportunity to respond to and/or rebut
such complaint, and shall have the right to be represented by the Association at any such meetings or
conferences regarding such complaint. If upon investigation a complaint is found to be without basis in
fact, it shall not be placed in the teacher's personnel file.

8:5 The teacher shall acknowledge that there has been an opportunity to review such complaint by signing
the copy to be filed, with the express understanding that such signature in no way indicates agreement with
the contents thereof. The teacher shall also have the right to submit a written answer to such material and
the answer shall be reviewed by the Superintendent or designee and attached to the file copy.

8:6 Any material placed in a teacher's file which the teacher has not seen and initialed shall not be used in
any proceedings against the teacher, unless the opportunity has been offered to initial said material and the
teacher has refused.

8:7 Should a teacher refuse to sign material referred to in this Article, the principal shall invite the

designated representative of the Association (building vice-president or Association president) to witness
the fact that the teacher has had an opportunity to sign, acknowledging that the opportunity was presented

12



and the Association representative shall initial to acknowledge that the member had the opportunity to sign
acknowledgement of the material.

8:8 State mandated continuing education: Teachers are encouraged to make use of contractual provisions
governing in-service opportunities, college courses at the graduate and undergraduate levels, professional
growth days and professional conferences to assist in acquiring the mandated 100 hours of State-approved
continuing professional development and/or in-service every five years. In addition, the Board will actively
assist and support a teacher's effort to meet the State requirement by seeking appropriate approval of all in-
service opportunities. Such approval shall appear on in-service registration forms. The Board shall provide
a certificate of attendance to all teachers who complete a district in-service program.

13



ARTICLE 9
Teacher Assignment

9:1 All teachers shall be given written notice of their step-on guide, tentative class and/or subject
assignments for the forthcoming year, not later than May 30th of the then current school year.

9:2 Schedules of teachers who are assigned to more than one school shall be arranged so that no such
teacher shall be required to engage in an unreasonable amount of inter-school travel. Such teachers shall be
notified of any changes in their schedules as soon as practicable.

9:3 Teachers who may be required to use their own automobiles in the performance of their duties and
teachers who are assigned to more than one school per day shall be reimbursed per mile at the rate
established by the State and/or Department of Education for school districts.

9:4 Teachers who desire a change in grade and/or subject or who desire to transfer to another building may
file a written statement of such desire with the Superintendent not later than March 1. Such statement shall
include the grade and/or subject to which the teacher desires to be assigned and the school or schools to
which transfer is desired, in order of preference.

9:5 When an involuntary transfer or reassignment is necessary, a teacher's area of competence, major field
of study, length of service in the West Windsor - Plainsboro School District, length of service in the
particular school building and other relevant factors, including, among other things, State and/or Federal
laws, rules, regulations, or administrative directives, shall be considered in determining which teacher is to
be transferred or reassigned.

9:6 In the event that a teacher objects, an involuntary transfer or reassignment shall be made only after a
meeting between the teacher involved and the principal if requested. In the event that a teacher objects to
the transfer or reassignment at this meeting, the Superintendent will meet with the teacher upon request.
The teacher may have an Association representative at all such meetings.

9:7(a) In the event that a teacher is assigned a transfer during a school year, he/she will be given two (2)
days release time or compensation at the summer rate of pay for two (2) days, provided he/she will work in
his/her building for at least two (2) days, (6) hours per day.

(b) In the event that a teacher is assigned a transfer after the last day and prior to the first day of the
following year, he/she will be given compensation at the summer rate of pay for two (2) days, provided
he/she will work in his/her building for at least two (2) days, (6) six hours per day.

(c) Such payment for Article 9:7 a. and b. will be given if an elementary teacher is requested to move from
one room to another, or if any teacher is requested to move from one building to another.
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ARTICLE 10
Promotions and Vacancies

10:1 Notice of all vacancies, new positions and promotional opportunities shall be disseminated to all
certificated staff through an E-mail link to AppliTrack or other similarly approved program by the
WWPRSD and that notification list shall be in advance of or simultaneously with the public announcement
and at least fourteen (14) calendar days prior to the position being permanently filled. Such notice shall
contain the job description and salary range for the position. Where necessary the Board can fill positions
on an interim basis until the posting process has been completed.

10:2 When posted positions are filled, a notation to this effect shall be furnished to the Association and
posted on the District web site and the bulletin board for one (1) week thereafter.
10.3 The Board agrees to consider professional background and attainments of all applicants. Each teacher

applicant not selected shall be so notified in writing by the Superintendent or designee.

10.4 Properly certified employees who apply for a posted position shall receive an interview, except as
follows:

10:4.1 There is no requirement to interview more than (5) employees for any position.
10:4.2 This interview requirement does not apply to situations involving the reassignment of staff

due to the opening of a new school, expansion of an existing school, grade realignment or any other
type of district reconfiguration. Vacancies remaining unfilled shall be subject to 10:4.1
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ARTICLE 11
Compensation for Additional Professional Activities

11:1 All openings for positions for summer school and homebound, federal projects, grants, curriculum and
stipend positions shall be posted as in 10:1, but shall not be subject to the conditions of 10:6. Positions
exclusive to a particular building shall be posted in that particular building. Coaching positions shall be
posted district wide.

11:2 Salary schedules for positions included in this Article shall be negotiated under procedures outlined in
Article 2 of this Agreement as a separate schedule, provided that salaries for the summer program shall be
$47.09 per hour.

11:3 During summer school, a teacher employed shall be entitled to two (2) sick days without loss of pay.
Such sick days shall not be cumulative.

11:4 By May 1 of each year, teachers will be notified as to the open summer school positions and hours and
weeks of work expected, in order that interested personnel may apply. Notification of employment for
summer school shall be made no later than May 30 preceding the beginning of summer school.

11:5 Home instruction or out-of-school instruction shall be compensated at the rate of $47.09 per hour.

11:6 Special education teachers shall be compensated at the rate of $70 per hour for home programming
outside of school hours. This rate shall not apply to home instruction or out-of-school instruction.

11:7 Child Study Team members, occupational therapists and physical therapists who are required to work
during a time when school is not in session shall be paid an amount which will be prorated according to
their regular contractual salary. Occupational therapists who were employed in the district as of June 30,
2008 shall be compensated for such work at the rate of $65.69 per hour. Physical therapists who were
employed in the district as of June 30, 2008 shall be compensated for such work at the rate of $76.45 per
hour.

11:8 Teachers shall be compensated at the rate of $47.09 per hour for workshops and in-service
presentations. Compensation will only be made in the event that the workshop and in-service presentations
are performed outside of school hours. This paragraph applies only to workshops and in-service programs
presented to district staff, and to programs for non-district staff if the teacher is assigned to present such a
program.

11:9 Teachers shall be compensated at the rate of $47.09 per hour for curriculum development work when
such work is performed outside of their contracted work days. Compensation shall be paid upon
submission of project documentation.

11:10 Teachers shall be compensated at the rate of $47.09 per hour for Title I in-school academic
assistance.

11:11 Teachers shall be compensated, in lieu of any other compensation, $50 per half-day session and $100
per full-day session when they attend in-service programs in response to a specific administrative invitation
on days outside of their contracted work days. This payment shall not apply to any conferences or courses
teachers attend in accordance with Articles 14:11, 14:12, or Articles 19:1 through 19:7.
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11:12 A school nurse who accompanies student(s) on a trip that is an approved school activity outside the
school district shall receive additional compensation when s/he is serving in the capacity of a school nurse
and the trip includes (1) an overnight stay of one or more nights or (2) the trip takes place on a day that
school is not in session. Compensation for school nurses shall be determined as follows: Nurses shall
receive additional compensation in the amount of $167.19 per diem for a trip with an additional per diem
$111.46 for each overnight stay. School nurses employed by the school district shall have the opportunity
to cover all school trips for which school nursing services are requested that include 50 or more students. If
a trip does not qualify for the additional compensation set forth above, but extends more than thirty (30)
minutes past the nurse’s regular work day, the nurse shall be paid at the hourly after school supervision rate
beginning after that thirty (30) minute period. The compensation for school nurses set forth in this
paragraph shall be in lieu of any other stipend that may be provided to staff members for supervising or
chaperoning students on particular trips.

11:13 The parties agree to form an advisory, district-wide professional development committee, which
shall include four (4) teachers (two representing K-5 schools, one representing middle schools and one
representing high schools) and two (2) administrators.

The Advisory Committee shall provide input on District-wide professional development planning and
implementation for each school year, including activities conducted on workdays when students are not in
attendance.

There shall be no more than ten (10) meetings per school year.

Openings for committee membership shall be posted and applicants shall be considered for the positions,
interviewed and selected in accordance with the terms and conditions of Article 10 of the Collective
Bargaining Agreement.

Teachers on the Advisory Committee shall be paid an annual stipend of $1,000.00.

This provision shall sunset on June 30, 2019.
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ARTICLE 12
Superintendent's Advisory Council

12:1 A joint Superintendent's Advisory Council will consist of the following positions: two members of the
Board of Education; two administrators appointed by the Superintendent; one representative from each
building appointed by the Association; and one ad hoc member appointed by the Association. The Council
shall meet at least four (4) times a year and advise and consult the Board on matters regarding the effective
operation of the school district. Council meetings are not intended to take the place of negotiations.

12:2 The Superintendent's Advisory Council shall establish its own rules of procedure. The Council shall
appoint its own chairman. The Council shall meet by prepared agenda. The Council shall be empowered by
majority vote to form subcommittees to study and render reports to the Council concerning the topics
suggested in 12:1 above.

12:3 The primary function of the Superintendent’s Advisory Council is to recommend for Board
consideration the establishment of policies and practices pertinent to the items suggested in 12:1 above. The
Council, in preparing its recommendations for Board consideration shall, at all times, avail itself of the
most up-to-date research pertinent to such recommendations. In addition, it shall provide for minority
reports, if any, pertaining to its recommendations.

12:4 The Board shall reply to the recommendations of the Council setting forth in writing its reaction to
such recommendations within a reasonable period of time, as indicated by the nature of the
recommendations.

12:5 All reports and recommendations outlined above in 12:3 shall be in writing.

12:6 Meetings shall generally be held during evening hours, usually beginning at 7:30 P.M.

12:7 The Board, in order to establish this Council and to enable it to function adequately, agrees to budget
$300 annually to provide for expenditures related to the work of the Council.
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ARTICLE 13
Sick Leave

13:1 Definition - Sick leave shall be defined to mean the absence from the post of duty of any teacher
because of personal disability due to illness or injury, or because the teacher has been excluded from school
by the school district's medical authorities on account of contagious disease, or of being quarantined for
such disease in the immediate household.

13:2 Allowable sick leave shall be defined to mean sick leave with full pay.

13:2.1 All full-time teachers shall be credited with twelve (12) days cumulative sick leave at the
beginning of each school year. Teachers beginning full-time employment after the school year has
begun will be credited with allowable sick leave at the rate of one (1) day for each month, or part
thereof, remaining in the school year at the time their full-time employment begins. Three (3)
additional non-cumulative days of allowable sick leave shall be available to teachers who have used
all accumulated allowable sick leave.

13:2.2 Part-time teachers (as defined in Article I) shall receive sick leave prorated upon the
relationship of part-time to full-time employment.

13:2.3 Unused allowable sick leave shall be accrued at the rate of no more than twelve (12) days per
year for all future years of employment by this school district.

13:2.4 If employment is terminated in any given year, then the allowable sick leave for that year
shall be based on one day for each month of employment for that contractual year up to twelve (12)
days.

13:3 Leave in Excess of Accumulated Allowable Sick Leave - Sick leave by teachers in excess of the
annual and accumulated leave shall result in the deduction of 1/200 of the annual salary for each such day.

13:3.1 By individual consideration of unusual cases, the Board may grant sick leave with partial
salary over and above the annual and accumulated allowable sick leave.

13:4 Physician's Certificate - The Superintendent may require a physician's certificate as verification for
any period of sick leave.

13:5 Physical Examination - The Superintendent may require a physical examination by the medical
inspector or an approved physician, at the expense of the Board, prior to the return to service of any teacher
who has been on sick leave.

13:6 Upon retirement from the West Windsor - Plainsboro Regional School District, with at least 20 years
of service to the district, an employee shall be compensated for accumulated sick leave on the following
pro-rata basis, i.e., one(1)day of their then current rate of pay for every four (4) days of accumulated sick
leave. Compensation for unused sick days on the same basis will become payable to the estate of the
individual if he/she dies while in active service.

13:7 No less than 30 days prior to his/her date of retirement, the employee shall elect how funds due under
Avrticle 13:6 shall be paid. The employee may elect to receive the funds in a check (payable within 60 days
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following the effective date of retirement) or may make any election permitted by IRS into a tax deferred
retirement plan, such as a 457 plan.

13:8 At the end of the school year, unused Personal Business Leave shall be accumulated as sick leave.

13:9 Notification of Sick Leave - Teachers shall be given a clear, written account of accumulated sick leave
days, as of the prior June 30, no later than October 31 of each school year.
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ARTICLE 14
Temporary and Extended Leaves of Absence

14:1 Personal Business Leave
14:1.1 Definition - Personal Business Leave is defined as the absence of a teacher from the post
during school hours for reasons such as the following:

. Religious holidays
. Closing on the purchase of a home
. Moving day
. Court appearance or other legal matters (See Article 14:10 regarding legal process)
. Entering offspring in college
Attending graduation of offspring or spouse
. Attending wedding of member of immediate family
. Marriage
Adoption
. To participate in the educational experience of an employee's child or spouse
k Other emergency or urgent reasons not mentioned above
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14:1.2 Personal Business Leave shall not be used to extend a school holiday or vacation period
without approval of the Superintendent. A request for Personal Business Leave made for a time
occurring immediately preceding or following a vacation period or holiday will of necessity,
therefore, require the reason for said leave be set forth in the application in order that the
Superintendent's discretion may be exercised.

14:2 Amount of Leave - A teacher shall be granted up to three (3) days of Personal Leave per year with
full pay. Such days shall be counted only when school is in session, or when the teacher would normally
be fulfilling school responsibilities. Unused Personal Business Leave shall be accumulated as sick leave
at the end of the year.

14:2.1 Part-time teachers (as defined in Article 1) shall receive Personal Business Leave prorated
upon the relationship of part-time to full-time employment.

14:3 Forms and Procedures - Teachers desiring Personal Business Leave shall submit Form A-26
"Application for Personal Business Leave".

14:3.1 The request for leave shall normally be submitted in duplicate to the principal at least four
(4) school days in advance of the desired date of the leave, if this is possible. If the leave is the
result of an emergency, the form shall be submitted immediately upon return to service.

14:3.2 A teacher's reason for making application for Personal Business Leave shall not be required
except when such leave is requested for the day immediately preceding or following a school
holiday or vacation period.

14:3.3 If the date(s) requested for Personal Business Leave is in conflict with that of a special
school activity such as a class field trip, a school-wide assembly program or a program for which
the teacher's presence is desirable, the application shall be subject to approval by the building
principal.
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14:4 A tenured teacher shall be granted up to twenty (20) days of Adoption Leave with full pay. Such days
shall be counted only when school is in session, or when the teacher would normally be fulfilling school
responsibilities. (See Article 17 regarding extended adoption leave without pay.)

14:5 Leave Beyond the Limits of this Section - No other leaves of absence with or without pay may be
taken without approval by the Board. Requests for such leave shall be submitted on Form A-26.

14:6 Absence for Family Illness

14:6.1 Family illness shall be defined to mean illness or injury to a member of the immediate family
as defined in 14:7.2.

14:6.2 A teacher shall be granted three (3) days of absence for family illness per year with full pay.
Such days shall be counted only when school is in session, or when the teacher would normally be
fulfilling school responsibilities. Two days from 13:2 may also be used as family illness days per
year.

14:7 Absence for Death

14:7.1 Death leave shall be defined to mean the leave from a post of duty of a teacher due to the
death of either a member of the immediate family or another close relative.

14:7.2 Amount of Leave at Full Salary

a. Immediate Family: up to seven (7) days leave per occurrence without loss of pay shall be
granted when a teacher suffers the loss of a member of the immediate family. "Immediate
family" shall include husband, wife, children, mother, father, brother, sister, mother-in-law,
father-in-law, civil union partner and domestic partner as defined by the New Jersey School
Employees’ Health Benefits Program.

b. Other close relatives: up to three (3) days leave per occurrence without loss of pay shall
be granted when a teacher suffers the loss of an aunt, uncle, sister-in-law, brother-in-law,
grandmother, grandfather, grandmother-in-law, grandfather-in-law, son-in-law, daughter-
in-law, anyone living in the same domicile at time of death.

c. Relative not a member of the immediate family or close friend: up to one (1) day of
leave per occurrence without loss of pay shall be granted for a teacher to attend the funeral
of a relative who is not a member of the immediate family or close friend.

14:7.3 Computing Days - In computing such leave, the following days will not be counted: legal
holidays, weekends, or other days when teacher's attendance is not required.

14:7.4 Coordination of Leave - Whenever such leave is required, the principal or the teacher's

immediate supervisor shall be notified so that suitable arrangements can be made for a replacement
during the period of the leave.
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14:7.5 Forms and Approval - Requests for such leave shall be submitted on the appropriate form.
The Superintendent of Schools is granted discretionary authority to grant leaves of absence, with or
without pay, within the framework of this policy.

14:7.6 Part-time teachers (as defined in Article 1) shall receive Death Leave prorated upon the
relationship of part-time to full-time employment.

14:7.7 Unusual Circumstances - In unusual circumstances, the Superintendent is authorized to
determine if the relationship with the deceased represents a closer relationship than could be
covered by any policy, or rule, or to determine if a longer leave period is warranted because of
special circumstances. In such instances, the Superintendent is authorized to take discretionary
action.

14:8 Leave for Jury Duty

14:8.1 Exemption from Jury Duty - Teachers who reside in New Jersey may seek to be excused
from any panel of grand or petit jurors under exemptions listed in NJSA 2B:20-9 while school is in
session and for other stated reasons as outlined in this cited statute.

14:8.2 Right to Serve on Jury- Teachers shall retain the right to serve on either grand or petit juries,
if they decide not to seek to be excused.

14:8.3 Signifying Intention of Possible Jury Service - Whenever a teacher has been notified that the
teacher's name has been drawn for jury service, the teacher shall notify the principal of the decision
(1) to seek to be excused or (2) to serve. This notice shall be given to the principal not later than the
date when the jury notice form has been returned to the jury commission, and the teacher shall
continuously keep the principal informed of prospective or actual jury service so that suitable
arrangements may be made for a substitute.

14:8.4 Jury Service Time - Teachers shall be released, if they so desire, for appropriate periods of
time to serve on either grand or petit juries, but such released time shall not be in excess of that
required to carry out this civic responsibility and the allied time for transportation and food
consumption. If less than a full day is required for such duty, the principal may request that the
teacher return to school for the balance of the school day or to carry out other routine assignments.

14:8.5 Salary - Total remuneration while on jury duty shall not exceed the teacher's total salary. If,
as a result of a teacher's determination to perform jury duty, it becomes necessary to replace the
teacher in a co-curricular activity, the teacher shall be entitled only to such portion of the salary
fixed for the co-curricular activity as would be appropriate for the prorated supervision of the
activity.

14:8.6 Fringe benefits - During the length of jury service, the teacher shall continue to receive all
fringe benefits as if the teacher were actually performing duties within the district.

14:8.7 Leave Charged - Jury service shall not be charged to any other leave of absence except in

those instances where the teacher cannot carry out jury duty for reasons which could be chargeable
to a specific leave, such as Personal Business Leave, Religious Observance Leave or Sick Leave.
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14:9 Temporary Disability Leave - If after exhaustion of all sick leave, an employee remains ill or disabled
and unable to return to work, the employee may request a "temporary unpaid leave of absence" for up to
two years in duration. The Board may require medical certification of the illness or disability and
assurance from the employee that the employee intends to return to work. Should these conditions be
satisfied, the Board will approve the leave and will continue to pay the following benefits provided the
employee provides certification that he/she is not eligible for coverage under another plan:

a. Level of State Health Benefits Program for medical coverage negotiated for the duration of the
contract

b. Dental Insurance

c. Prescription Insurance

14:9.1 During the leave, if the teacher recovers and is certified by his or her physician as being able
to return to a Board-offered vacancy and refuses to do so, or if the employee accepts employment
elsewhere, all Board payments (the benefits noted above) will cease.

14:10 Legal requests - absence from school by reason of subpoena or legal process required by law shall be
allowed and will not be charged to Personal Business leave.

14:11 Professional Growth Days - Every teacher is entitled to attend at least one professional conference of
one day's duration each school year. All fees and expenses will be paid by the Board up to $300 per year in
total for all conferences. (See Article 14:12 regarding national conferences). Requests to attend
professional conferences and requests for payment for travel expenditures must be submitted on the
appropriate district forms and include all required documentation. All requests for attendance at
professional conferences must be approved in advance by the Superintendent of Schools and/or Board of
Education (when required) in accordance with applicable state laws and regulations, and Board policy.
Building principals can limit the number of teachers attending conferences on the same day.

14:12 Leave for Professional Conferences (National, state, local conferences of more than one day's
duration when overnight lodging is appropriate).

14:12.1 The following criteria will be considered when a teaching staff member requests attendance
at a conference:

a. The conference participation will provide the maximum benefit to the total school program,
departmental goals, and professional objectives.

b. The conference will be appropriate to the teaching and/or professional assignment.

c. The teacher's seniority will be considered in the event of multiple applications.

d. Requests to attend national conferences must be submitted on the appropriate district forms and
include all required documentation. The application deadline will be no later than October 1 in the
school year in which the national conference will be held.

14:12.2 Upon selection to attend an overnight conference:

a. The teacher will report orally and/or in writing on conference topics to the appropriate supervisor,
department, grade level, and/or committee.

b. The teacher returning from sabbatical leave of absence will be ineligible to attend a national
conference during the year following his/her return.

c. Teachers will attend no more than one paid national conference every three years.
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d. Teachers who choose to participate in this reimbursement plan will not be eligible to do so again
for five years. They may, however, attend approved conferences at their own expense.

14:12.3 Up to 3 percent of staff or two staff members in each school or program, whichever is
greater, will be eligible for this benefit. The Board will reimburse the staff member for up to $700
in expenses subject to the requirements and limitations of applicable state laws and regulations, and
Board policy.

14:12.4 Number of professional conferences granted per year - The number of professional
conferences the Board may grant for any school year shall not exceed the whole number which
comes nearest to 3% of the total number of teachers in each school or program (Special Services) or
two staff members whichever is greater, as of the deadline for filing of applications for such
professional conference for said school year. The board reserves to itself the right to exceed this if
it is found that unusual conditions make the granting of additional leaves desirable.

14:13 Other Leaves of Absence - No other leaves of absence with or without pay may be taken without
approval of the Board.
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ARTICLE 15
Sabbatical Leave

15:1 The Board, upon recommendation of the Superintendent of Schools, may grant sabbatical leaves of
absence to eligible teachers. The underlying purpose of the sabbatical leave is to improve the teacher's
quality of teaching and to enable the teacher to gain enriching and broadening experience by professional
study and research. Major consideration must be given to the benefit which will accrue to the pupils and
community through the individual's growth. The Board shall annually budget funds for such purpose,
subject to the approval of the electorate. Should conditions be such that in order to budget for such leaves,
the Board believes that it will be necessary to reduce programs, staff and/or other necessary items, said
funds may not be budgeted or may be reduced if the Association is consulted and approves of such a
decision.

15:2 Eligibility - A teacher shall be eligible for a sabbatical leave for the year immediately following the
completion of each six (6) consecutive years of service in the school district. A teacher shall not be eligible
for more than one (1) sabbatical leave in any seven (7) year period.

15:3 Length of Leave - Such leaves of absence shall be for one (1) full academic year.

15:4 Number of Leaves Per Year - The number of sabbatical leaves the Board may grant for any school
year shall not exceed the whole number which comes nearest to 2% of the total number of teachers in the
district as of the deadline for filing of applications for such leave for said school year (see 15:6). The Board
reserves to itself the right to exceed this if it is found that unusual conditions make the granting of
additional leaves desirable. The granting of sabbatical leaves shall be solely within the discretion of the
Board. However, same shall not be arbitrarily or capriciously withheld.

15:5 Purpose of Leaves - Sabbatical leaves will be granted for the purpose of professional study and
research. A teacher whose objectives do not clearly fall under these categories may submit an application
provided the objectives are fully substantiated.

15:6 Application - The request for a sabbatical leave shall be submitted on Form A-50 prior to December 1
of the school year preceding the academic year for which the leave of absence is desired. All materials
pertinent to said leave must be submitted no later than February 1st following the submission of the
application.

15:6.1 Applicant's statement of purpose and plan for the sabbatical leave should reflect professional
maturity commensurate with ability and experience.

15:6.2 The written application should outline in detail the proposed professional improvement plan
to be undertaken and how it is expected to improve the quality of instruction, and any additional
information which will be helpful in evaluating the request.

15:6.3 The application shall include details of the plans for one or more of the following:(a)
Research - The topic, the objectives and methods to be followed in completing the research;(b)
Study - The courses and objectives of the program of study (see 15:9 below).

15:7 Evaluation of Application - The Superintendent of schools shall evaluate each request and shall submit
a recommendation to the Board.
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15:7.1 In making this evaluation, the Superintendent of schools shall give first consideration to
those plans which involve greatest self-improvement and greatest benefit to the school system. A
secondary consideration will be the seniority of the teacher applying for leave.

15:7.2 The Superintendent of Schools may request the presence of the applicant at the Board
meeting at which the request is to be considered. This will provide the Board with the opportunity to
explore to the fullest extent possible the plan and purpose of the teacher.

15:8 Condition of Leave - As a condition for the granting of the sabbatical leave, the teacher shall enter into
a contract with the Board to continue in service for a period of at least two (2) years after the expiration of
the leave of absence. Upon failure to continue, the teacher may be required to repay to the Board a sum
bearing the same ratio to the amount received while on sabbatical that the unfulfilled portion of the two
subsequent years' service bears to the full two years. However, the teacher shall be released from such
payment if the failure to serve the stipulated two years be due to illness or disability, or if the teacher is
discharged from the position. In addition, no repayment will be due from the teacher's estate, if the teacher
should expire before the end of the two-year period.

15:9 Salary and Benefits - A teacher on sabbatical leave shall receive a salary based on the following:

a. A teacher on sabbatical leave shall receive a salary equal to 100% of the salary received were the teacher
teaching in the school system that year, when such leave is for the purpose of graduate study in the area in
which the teacher is presently assigned.

b. A teacher on sabbatical leave shall receive an salary equal to 50% of the salary received were the teacher
teaching in the school system that year, when such leave is for the purpose of graduate study in an area not
presently assigned.

c. Under either (a) or (b) above, the graduate study, in order to qualify for a sabbatical, must be at an
institution of higher learning meeting the criteria of Article 19:3.

15:9.1 Salary payments will be made on the same basis as for other teachers.
15:9.2 From this compensation, regular deductions shall be made for the Teacher's Pension and
Annuity Funds, and such other deductions that are required or that have been requested by the

teachers as per Article 20.

15:9.3 The Board will continue its normal contribution for major medical insurance and other fringe
benefits for the teacher during such leaves of absence.

15:9.4 During a sabbatical leave, the teacher shall continue to accumulate sick leave.
15:9.5 The leave of absence shall be counted for purposes of seniority and advancement on the
salary guide. A teacher returning from sabbatical leave shall be placed on the step of the

appropriate guide the teacher would have attained had the teacher taught the entire previous year in
the school district.
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15:9.6 The tuition reimbursement provisions of Article 19 of this Agreement shall not be applicable
during sabbatical leave; however, the Board will reimburse the teacher for all tuition (up to the New
Jersey State College level), textbooks, lab fees, and all other mandatory charges rendered by the

college and/or university attended.

15:10 Notification to Teacher - notification of the action taken by the Board on requests for sabbatical
leaves will be given in writing by April 1, following the submission of the application.

15:11 Interruption or Termination of Leave - In the event that injury or illness compels the teacher to
interrupt or to terminate the sabbatical leave, the teacher must notify the Superintendent of Schools
immediately.

15:11.1 Upon receipt of such notification, the Superintendent of Schools shall notify the Secretary
of the Board and the teacher that the provisions of the sick leave policy will be applicable from the
first day of the next pay period following receipt of such notification.

15:11.2 The teacher shall have the medical reasons for interruption of the leave verified by a
medical doctor, and have a report forwarded to the Superintendent of Schools.

15:11.3 Upon release by the teacher's private physician, and the approval of the school medical
inspector, the teacher will return to regular duty for the remainder of the school year.

15:11.4 For the balance of the academic year, the teacher will be assigned as needed at the
discretion of the Superintendent of Schools within the area in which the teacher is certificated.

15:11.5 In instances where the leave is terminated by illness or injury, the teacher will receive sick
pay for a period of time equal to the accumulated sick leave. If the accumulative sick leave is
exhausted and the teacher is either unable to resume the leave of absence and carry out the
objectives or to return to school, the Board shall determine whether to grant a leave of absence for
the balance of the academic year and under what conditions.

15:11.6 If a leave is abrogated, the teacher shall not be restricted from requesting a leave in any
subsequent year.

15:11.7 If a leave of absence is terminated, the teacher's seniority and credit shall continue just as if
the sabbatical leave had continued.

15:12 Additional Compensation - Since the purpose of this leave is study or research, the applicant shall not
accept other employment during the period of leave unless it pertains directly to the objectives and then

only upon the approval of the Superintendent of Schools.

15:13 Reports - At the completion of the leave, the teacher shall submit a written evaluation of the
experiences in light of the objectives for which the leave was granted. In addition, an oral report may be
requested by the Board.

15:14 Revocation of Leave - If the Superintendent of Schools is convinced that the teacher is not fulfilling

the purposes for which the leave was granted, the Superintendent shall report this fact to the Board.
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15:14.1 If the Board believes that the leave should be revoked, it shall provide the teacher with the
opportunity to be heard.

15:14.2 After evaluating the merits of the case, the Board shall either continue the leave of absence
or revoke the leave, and return the teacher to service.

15:15 Return to Service- A teacher returning to service after sabbatical leave shall be considered for the

same position that was held at the time the leave began, if vacant, or if not, to a substantially equivalent
position.
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ARTICLE 16
Maternity Disability Leave

16:1 Any regularly appointed employee shall notify the Superintendent of her condition and, if she elects to
remain in her position, may be required to submit periodic certification of her continuing fitness to perform
her duties.

16:2 During the four weeks preceding and the four weeks following childbirth, when the employee is
presumed to be disabled, she will be entitled to sick leave benefits. Should disability occur earlier in the
pregnancy or continue for more than one month following birth, the employee may use additional sick
leave benefits if she presents a physician's statement attesting to her continued disability.

16:3 The Board reserves the right to request a statement of health from said employee's physician and
further reserves the right to require the maternity disability leave to start sooner should her condition
(mental or physical) warrant this action. Any such action shall be subject to the procedure described in
16:4, 16:4.1 and 16:4.2 of this Article.

16:4 The Board shall not remove any teacher from her duties during pregnancy, except on any one of the
following bases:

16:4.1 Performance: Her teaching performance has substantially declined from the time
immediately prior to her pregnancy.

16:4.2 Physical Incapacity: Her physical condition or capacity is such that her health would be
impaired if she were to continue teaching, and which physical incapacity shall be deemed to exist
only if:

a. The pregnant teacher fails to produce a certification from her physician that she is medically able
to continue teaching, or

b. The Board's physician and the teacher’s physician agree that

she cannot continue teaching, or

c. Following any difference of medical opinion between the Board's physician and the teacher's
physician, the Board may request expert consultation in which case a third impartial physician,
agreed upon by the teacher and the Board, shall be appointed to examine the teacher and render a
medical opinion which shall be conclusive and binding on the issue of medical capacity to continue
teaching. The expense of any examination by an impartial third physician under this paragraph
shall be shared equally by the teacher and the Board.

16:4.3 Just Cause: Any other "just cause" as defined in NJSA Title 18A.

16:5 When the anticipated period of disability occurs early in the school year and therefore could
substantially disrupt the continuity of the educational process, it may be in the best interest of both parties
for the leave to start at the beginning of the school year. Should both the Board and the teacher agree, the
employee may use up to two months of accumulated sick leave, despite the requirement that to receive
disability payments an employee must work until one month before childbirth.

16:6 In the case of pregnancy, the commencement date of the requested maternity disability leave may be
any time prior to birth.
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16:7 The Board recognizes that pregnancy does not necessarily disable an employee. Thus, no employee
will be required to take unpaid leaves of absences for pregnancy. As described in Articles 16:3, 16:4,
16:4.1, and 16:4.2, the Board may at its discretion require periodic physician certification of the employee's
continued fitness to perform her duties.

16:8 As the Board permits employees to work until they are disabled by pregnancy, should an employee
choose to take an unpaid leave prior to any actual disability, this employee will not be able to receive sick
leave payments when disability does occur.

16:9 Except as otherwise provided in this Article, no tenured or non-tenured employee on maternity
disability leave shall be barred from returning to work after the birth of her child by any prescribed waiting
period between the birth of her child and the date of return to work; however, each such employee shall be
required to file, at least two weeks prior to the date of her return or at the time of giving the required notice
of intention to return, whichever is earlier, a certificate from her physician stating that she is physically
capable of resuming her full duties, provided that if the Board's physician is not in agreement, that conflict
of medical opinion shall be resolved in the same manner as set forth in 16:4.2(c) of this Article.
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ARTICLE 17
Child Care and Adoption Leaves of Absence

17:1 The Board shall grant child care or adoption leaves of absence without pay (See Article 14:4 regarding
temporary adoption leave with pay.) to employees under the following terms and conditions:

17:2 Any employee may request an unpaid leave of absence to care for a newly born or adopted child.

17:3 Employees seeking an unpaid leave of absence for child care or adoption shall, when possible, make
written application to the Superintendent not less than 90 days prior to the requested commencement date
of the leave. This 90-day notification period may be reduced by agreement between the employee and the
Superintendent.

17:4 Any tenured or non-tenured employee may return to work within the school year in which the leave
begins, provided he or she shall have requested to do so in the application for a child care or adoption leave
of absence and shall have specified the month when he or she desires to return. Any change of the date of
return within the same school year shall only be allowed at the discretion of the Board provided application
is made following the original grant of the leave of absence but prior to the announced commencement date
thereof. Such change may be granted by the Board for reasons associated with the pregnancy, birth,
adoption, or for other proper causes provided that such change will not substantially interfere with
administration of the school. Any tenured employee granted a leave of absence with a return date during the
same school year, who wishes to extend said leave beyond the school year in which it commences, shall be
permitted to do so if he or she makes application at least three weeks prior to the commencement date of his
or her leave of absence and subject to the provisions of 17:5 of this Article.

17:5 An employee under tenure shall be granted a child care or adoption leave without pay for not more
than three (3) years from September of the school year in which he or she requests the leave. When the
leave is granted, he or she will return as a tenured employee.

17:6 The Board shall not be required to extend the leave on non-tenured employees beyond the school year
for which they were hired. Non-tenured employees wishing to return for the following school year shall be
considered by the Board for re-employment for the following year.

17:7 Any tenured employee may return to work in a school year subsequent to the school year in which his
or her leave begins, provided he or she shall have requested to do so in his or her application for a leave of
absence. Any such employee shall be permitted to return to work at the beginning of any of the two school
years following the school year in which his or her leave commences, provided such employee has given
the Board written notice of his or her intention to do so by no later than the date of January 1 prior to the
beginning of the school year in which he or she wishes to return.

17:8 Any employee granted a leave of absence under this Article shall be eligible for an increment in the
following year (or in the year in which he or she actually returns from such leave) provided he or she has at
least 91 or more working days (10-month employee) of service to the district in the year in which the leave
commences.

17:9 No employee on child care or adoption leave shall, on the basis of said leave, be denied the
opportunity to substitute in the West Windsor -Plainsboro School district in area of his/her competence.
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17:10 An employee granted a leave of absence under this Article shall continue to have his/her medical,
prescription, and dental benefits (as set forth in Article 20 of this Agreement) paid by the Board for a period
of three (3) months after the beginning of such leave.

17:11 Return to Service - A teacher returning to service after a child care or adoption leave shall be
considered for the same position that was held at the time the leave began, if vacant, or if not, to a
substantially equivalent position.
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ARTICLE 18
Salaries

18:1 The salaries of all teachers covered by this Agreement are set forth in the Appendix which is attached
hereto and made a part hereof. In the event the 2012-13 Agreement expires without a successor agreement
in place, there will be no requirement to pay any increments pending the outcome of negotiations.

Any occupational therapist and physical therapist staff member on payroll as of June 30, 2008, whose
annual salary for 2007-08 exceeds the top step of the applicable column of the salary guide for any year of
this Agreement, shall continue to be paid at his/her annual salary in effect for the 2007-08 school year.

18:1.1 All employees shall be paid through a direct deposit system under the laws and regulations of
the State of New Jersey. The bank selected by the employee must participate in the
electronic transfer system and be a member of the Federal Reserve System.

18:2 The Board may withhold the salary raise and/or increment of any teacher upon recommendation of the
Superintendent in accordance with New Jersey Law (RS18A:29-14).

18:3 In cases where the Superintendent is aware by February 1 that a salary raise and/or increment may be
withheld from a teacher, a warning notice of deficiencies in performance, and/or any other applicable
reason(s) for such withholding of a salary raise and/or increment, shall be given to said teacher by March 1
of the school year preceding each school year in which the salary raise and/or increment is to be withheld.
Said teacher shall be notified of the intent to withhold salary raise and/or increment by April 1st following
the issuance of the warning notice. Notwithstanding the above referenced dates, nothing shall prevent the
Board from continuing to evaluate a teacher’s performance after the above dates to determine whether an
increment should be withheld.

18:4 In the event of the failure of the Board to re-employ a non-tenured teacher, said teacher may request
(1) a meeting with the building principal, (2) a meeting with the Superintendent of Schools, and (3) a
meeting with the Board during which the teacher may stipulate his/her position relative to the matter.

18:5 Newly hired certificated employees with prior teaching experience, either private or public shall be
placed on the same step of the guide as currently employed teachers with the same experience on the salary
guide. The following exceptions shall apply:

(a) Non-certified teachers will not receive credit,

(b) Certified teachers who have nursery school experience will receive one full year credit for every
two years of previous experience. However, once established, the credit agreed upon shall serve as
the base from which future progress on the salary schedule will occur.

(c) Newly hired teachers who have teaching experience at a college or university may be granted
credit on the salary guide for prior experience as members of a college or university faculty.
Experience as an adjunct faculty member shall not be credited.

(d) New employees serving under educational services certifications who have prior experience in
the same positions with employers other than public or private schools may be granted credit on the
salary guide for analogous experience in such positions (e.g., media specialist receiving salary guide
credit for service as a county librarian). Only prior experience that involved working with school
age children (pre-K to 12) can be credited under this paragraph.
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18:6 Mentoring - Teachers who are assigned mentoring duties shall be guaranteed a minimum of one day
per month and more as needed with the approval of the principals. Days worked above the contractual
number of days actually required shall be paid pro rata. Mentors shall be paid a stipend of $2,010 per
school year and released to perform the necessary duties of mentoring. If more than one teacher acts as a
mentor to a provisional teacher, the stipend shall be equally divided among the members. Mentors shall not
be required to directly or indirectly evaluate provisional teachers. The foregoing stipend is applicable to
persons mentoring a first year teacher. Persons mentoring a second year teacher will receive one-half of
that stipend.
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ARTICLE 19
Reimbursement of Tuition

19:1 Eligibility - Teachers within the district are eligible to receive reimbursement for the costs associated
with the enrollment and attendance in approved courses for professional improvement according to the
following regulations.

19:2 The total amount of annual reimbursements to employees represented by the Association pursuant to
this provision shall be limited to $450,000. Reimbursement shall be paid in order of approval. The
$450,000 will be allocated as follows: $400,000 will be available for courses taken in the summer and fall
semesters; $50,000 will be set aside for courses taken in the spring semester. If any of the $400,000 for
summer and fall semester courses is not utilized, the unspent funds will carry over and be available in the
spring semester, in addition to the $50,000 that was set aside. Unspent funds at the end of the school year
will not into carry over into subsequent years. Reimbursement shall cover 100% of the cost of tuition,
registration, lab fees and all other mandatory charges at the college and/or university that the employee
attends.

If attendance or enrollment at a seminar, workshop, or course is specifically requested by the
administration, then the Board shall reimburse the teacher for 100% of approved costs. Attendance or
enrollment shall be considered “specifically requested” only if it is assigned and required by the
administration. Courses, seminars, etc. taken in the context of State mandated continuing education shall
not be considered “specifically requested”. However, courses, Seminars, etc. taken in the context of State
mandated continuing education shall be eligible for reimbursement under 14:11 and the remaining
provisions of Article 19.

19:3 Criteria for Courses Eligible for Reimbursement - The following criteria will be applied to
determine whether a course is eligible for tuition reimbursement:

(@) A course necessary to renew existing substandard emergency or provisional certificates
is not eligible for reimbursement.

(b) A course may be taken at any institution of higher learning accredited by a regional
accrediting organization recognized by the United States Department of Education.

(c) A course may be taken at the graduate or undergraduate level.

(d) A course may require class attendance or be taken online.

(e) A course which is taught primarily through videotaped lessons is eligible for
reimbursement only if the Superintendent gives advanced approval to the course based
on its instructional methodology.

(f) (1) The course must be credited toward a degree program, which will broaden or
strengthen the teacher’s professional background, or (2) the course itself must broaden
or strengthen the teacher’s professional background. (A teacher may be requested to
submit the course description).

(9) A maximum of 12 credits per year at 100% of college tuition shall be covered by these
regulations; however, approval will not be granted for more than six (6) credits during
each semester between September and June.

19:4 Approval of Courses — Written course approval by the Superintendent of Schools/designee is

required prior to enrolling in courses for which tuition reimbursement is desired. Subject to the
tuition cap limitations set forth in Article 19:2 and criteria set forth in Article 19:3, approval for
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tuition reimbursement shall be granted in order of submission of course pre-approval requests for
courses. All requests for course approval must be submitted via the district’s online course
approval system in advance of enrollment in accordance with following schedule:

19:4.1 Summer session (covers all courses that begin May 1 or later that are completed
after June 30 but prior to the beginning of the school year): Requests for course approval
shall be accepted no earlier than April 1 and no later than July 1.

19:4.2 Fall semester (covers all courses that begin August 1 or later that are completed by
January 31): Requests for course approval shall be accepted no earlier than July 15 and no
later than September 15.

19:4.3 Spring semester (covers all courses that begin January 1 or later that are completed
by June 30): Requests for course approval shall be accepted no earlier than November 15
and no later than January 15.

19:5 Notice of Pre-Approval — Teachers shall be informed in a timely manner (a) if the courses
submitted for pre-approval are determined to be eligible for reimbursement based upon the course
content and (b) whether funds are available for reimbursement. If funds are not available because
the pre-approved tuition monies have reached the cap, the teacher shall be placed on a waiting list
based upon receipt of the request. If the final reconciliation of tuition reimbursement costs reveals
that the cap was not exceeded, teachers who have pending requests that were not pre-approved due
to unavailability of funds shall be advised by email and a telephone call in their order on the
waiting list that they may submit requests for reimbursement of eligible courses. Such requests
must be submitted within fourteen (14) calendar days of notification of availability of funds.

19:6 Payment - Reimbursement shall be made to the teacher only after submission of proof of the
satisfactory completion of the course(s), with a grade of “B minus” or better (or “pass” in a pass/fail
course), and evidence of payment of tuition costs. Individual consideration for reimbursement will be
given in those instances where it becomes necessary for the registrant to withdraw from a course before
the course is completed. Teachers must be in the employment of the district on the date of filing their
Application for Tuition Reimbursement in order to qualify for reimbursement.

19:7 Forms and Procedures — All requests for course approval and tuition reimbursement must be
made via the district’s online course approval and tuition reimbursement system. Reimbursement
will be made as promptly as possible upon submission of all required documentation and in
accordance with the Board’s normal payment of bills. Any requests for tuition reimbursement
made more than sixty (60) days after completion of the course may be denied. Employees who do
not return to the school district will not be reimbursed for courses taken during the previous year,
unless their failure to return is of an involuntary nature.

19:8 Those employees who have received reimbursement and elect not to return to the district for the
following year will not be eligible for tuition reimbursement. Those persons will have tuition
reimbursement received during the previous year deducted from their final paycheck. In the event that
this is not possible, the teacher will return tuition reimbursement received during the past year.
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ARTICLE 20
Insurance Protection

20:1 All benefits coverage shall be subject to individual employee contributions at the rate required by law,
which shall be in addition to any contribution as may be required by the terms of Article 20:8.

20:2 The Board will, if the teacher so requests, make premium payments for all full-time employees and
part-time employees (who work a sufficient number of hours per week to qualify for coverage under the
New Jersey School Employees’ Health Benefits Program) and their dependents for the medical, surgical
and hospitalization insurance offerings of the New Jersey School Employees Health Benefits Program for
the duration of this contract.

20:3 Any contemplated change in the carrier now specified shall be discussed with the Association prior to
such change. However, the coverage, if changed, shall be subject to negotiations between the parties.

20:4 The Board, if the teacher so requests, will pay the cost of dental insurance. The program shall be the
New Jersey Dental Service Plan Inc., (NJDSP), the Delta Dental Plan, Three Party (Employee, Two Party,
and Family). The coverage shall be:

Preventative and Diagnostic: 100%
Remaining Basic Services: 100%
Prosthodontic Benefits: 60%
Orthodontic Benefits: 70%

The above program is based upon Usual, Customary, and Reasonable (UCR) Fee concept. The maximum
amount payable by New Jersey Dental Service Plan (NJDSP) for the above dental services, excluding
Orthodontic Benefits, provided an eligible patient in any calendar year is $1,500.00.

Orthodontic Benefits are subject to a $1,500.00 maximum per case which is separate from the $1,500.00
maximum mentioned above applicable to Basic and Prosthodontic Benefits. The Orthodontic Benefits are
applicable to both children and adults covered by this plan.

20:4.1 An annual deductible of $30.00 (individual)/ $60.00 (family) shall be established with a
deductible waived for preventative services. Effective January 1, 2014, the annual dental
deductible shall be increased to $50 individual/maximum $100 per family with deductible waived
for preventative services.

20:5 The Board, if the teacher so requests, will pay the cost of the Blue Cross Prescription Plan, including
oral contraceptive coverage to employee, spouse, civil union partner and domestic partner (as defined by
the New Jersey School Employees’ Health Benefits Program), and children, to age 23, or in accordance
with law (currently age 26), whichever is higher, with the following co-pay levels. The co-pay levels shall
be $10 for generic drugs; $35 for preferred brand-name drugs; $50 for non-preferred brand name drugs; and
two times (2x) the applicable co-pay for a 90 day mail order supply ($20 generic, $70 for preferred brand-
name drugs, $100 for non-preferred brand name drugs).

20:6 Upon retirement from the district, with at least 25 years of service to the district, the Board will pay

the cost of the employees’ present coverage: New Jersey Dental Service Plan - for a period of ten (10)
years from the effective date of retirement.
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20:7 To the extent permitted by law, upon retirement from the district and upon termination of the
following benefits: Level of medical, surgical and hospitalization benefits negotiated for the duration of this
contract, New Jersey Prescription Plan, and New Jersey Dental Service Plan, the employee will be allowed
to continue to purchase these benefits at the group rate with no cost to the Board.

20:8 For teachers who begin employment 9/1/97 or later who work from 50% to 75%, the Board shall pay
pro-rated insurance premiums for the first three years of service for dental and prescription plan coverage.
Any employee who starts with full coverage or achieves full coverage during their first three years will
maintain coverage throughout the three year period. The three years will run concurrently with the
employee’s tenure track.

20:9 When applicable, the teacher and the Board must adhere to the conditions of the Board’s Section 125
plan.

20:10 Waiver of Benefits

20:10.1 To the extent permitted by law, employees who have alternate medical and/or dental
and/or prescription coverage may elect to waive coverage in one or more of the insurance plans
provided in this Article by signing a waiver form.

20:10.2 To the extent permitted by law, an employee who waives coverage shall receive payment
equal to 25% of the cost of the premium the Board would have paid had the employee not waived
coverage.

20:10.3 An employee who has waived coverage, but later loses coverage in his/her alternate
insurance plan, may resume coverage under the Board’s plan, upon reimbursement of the amount
paid (prorated for each month of insurance coverage) and subject to rules and regulations of the
insurance carrier.
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ARTICLE 21
Association Payroll Dues Deduction

21:1 The Board agrees to deduct from the salaries of its teachers dues for the West Windsor-Plainsboro
Education Association, the Mercer County Education Association, New Jersey Education Association and
the National Education Association, or any one, or any combination of such Associations as said teachers
individually and voluntarily authorize the Board to deduct. Such deductions shall be made in compliance
with Chapter 233, N.J. Public Laws of 1969 (NJSA 52:14-15.9e) and under rules established by the State
Department of Education. Said monies, together with current records of any corrections, shall be
transmitted to such person as may from time to time be designated by the West Windsor-Plainsboro
Education Association by the 15th of each month following the monthly pay period in which deductions
were made. The person designated shall disburse such monies to the appropriate association or
associations.

21:2 Each of the associations named above shall certify to the Board, in writing, the current rate of its

membership dues. Any association which shall change the rate of its membership dues shall give the Board
written notice prior to the effective date of such change.
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ARTICLE 22
Miscellaneous Provisions

22:1 The Board and the Association agree that during the period of this Agreement neither will directly or
indirectly engage in or assist in any unfair labor practices.

22:2 Nothing in this Agreement shall require the Board to keep schools open in the event of severe
inclement weather or when otherwise prevented by health hazard or acts of God. When schools are closed
to students due to the above conditions, attendance of teachers will not be required.

22:3 The Board, on its own behalf and on behalf of the electors of the District hereby retains and reserves
unto itself, without limitation, all powers, rights, authority, duties and responsibilities conferred upon and
vested in it by the laws and the Constitution of the State of New Jersey and the United States.

22:4 The exercise of the foregoing powers, rights, authority, duties and responsibilities by the Board, the
adoption of policies, rules, regulations and practices in furtherance thereof, and the use of judgment and
discretion in connection therewith shall be limited only to the specific and express terms of this agreement
and then only to the extent such specific and express terms hereof are in conformance with the Constitution
and laws of the State of New Jersey and the Constitution and laws of the United States.

22:5 Nothing contained herein shall be considered to restrict or deny the Board of its rights, responsibilities,
and authority under the New Jersey School Laws or any other national, state, county, district or local laws
or regulations.

22:6 If any provision of this Agreement or any application of this Agreement to any teacher or groups of
teachers is held to be contrary to law, then such provision or application shall not be deemed valid and
subsisting, except to the extent permitted by law, but all other provisions or applications shall continue in
full force and effect.

22:7 Nothing in this Agreement which changes pre-existing Board Policy, rules or regulations shall operate
retroactively unless expressly so stated. The parties agree that teachers shall continue to serve under the
direction of the Superintendent of Schools and in accordance with Board and Administrative Policies, Rules
and Regulations provided that the provisions of this Agreement shall supersede and prevail over any
conflicting provisions.

22:8 It is understood that, under the ruling of the courts of New Jersey and the State Commissioner of
Education, the Board of Education is forbidden to waive any rights or powers granted it by law. Anything
to the contrary notwithstanding, nothing contained in any section, paragraph, or sub-section of this
Agreement shall be interpreted in any manner or be so construed as to indicate that the Board has waived
rights which are expressly required by the courts to be retained by the Board.

22:9 The Board and the Association agree that there shall be no discrimination in the hiring, training,
assignment, promotion, transfer or discipline of teachers or in the application or administration of this
Agreement on the basis of race, creed, color, religion, national origin, sex, domicile or marital status.

22:10 Incidental Purchases - Teachers may submit to the principal, on a monthly basis, reimbursement
requests for teaching supplies purchased on their own, for specific class, education or cultural projects, up
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to a maximum of $50.00 per teacher. Each request shall be accompanied by a purchase receipt.
Reimbursement, after approval by the principal, will be made within 30 days.

22:11 Copies of this Agreement shall be printed in booklet form and distributed to the members of the
bargaining unit promptly. The booklet form referred to will be approximately similar to other booklet
forms in use within Mercer County between school districts and education associations. The costs shall be
shared between the Board and the Association.

22:12 The Board agrees to provide separate checks or pay stubs showing compensation for each activity
performed. Pay stubs shall report regular salary and any other salary as separate categories.

22:13 Notices under this Agreement shall be given by either party to the other by telegram or registered
letter as follows:

To the Board at:
West Windsor-Plainsboro Regional School District
321 Village Road East
West Windsor, NJ 08550

To the Association at:
West Windsor-Plainsboro Education Association
P.O. Box 27
West Windsor, NJ 08550
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ARTICLE 23
Agency Shop

23:1 Purpose of Fee - If a teacher does not become a member of the Association during any membership
year (i.e., from September 1 to the following August 31) which is covered by this Agreement, said teacher
will be required to pay a representation fee to the Association for that membership year. The representation
fee will be deducted, prospective only, beginning September 1, 1981. The purpose of this fee will be to
offset the employee's per capita cost of services rendered by the Association as majority representative.

As covered by statute, employees may appeal for the recovery of that portion of the fee intended for the aid
of activities or causes of a partisan, political, or ideological nature only incidentally related to terms and
conditions of employment.

23:2 Amount of Fee

23:2.1 Fee Notification - Prior to the beginning of each membership year, the Association will notify
the Board, in writing, of the amount of the regular membership dues, initiation fees and assessments
charged by the Association to its members for that membership year. The Association will certify to
the Board prior to the start of each membership year that the amount of the representation fee to be
assessed does not exceed 85% of dues, fees and assessments and does not include any amount of
dues, fees and assessments that are expended toward the cost of benefits available only to members
of the major representative.

23:2.2 Fee for Part-Time Employees - Teachers who are employed on a part time work schedule
equal to at least 50 percent time and who choose not to become Association members will pay the
representation fee. Teachers who are employed less than 50 percent time will not be required to pay
the fee.

23:2.3 Fee for Those Employed After the Start of the School Year - Teachers who are employed
after January 1 of any year who choose not to become members will not be required to pay a
representation fee for that year.

23:3 Prior to the deduction of the representation fee in any membership year, the Association will certify to
the Board in writing that the requirements of applicable laws, including NJAC 19:17-3.1 et. seq. have been
met. The Association shall also provide to the Board prior to the deduction of representation fees a copy of
the demand and return system.

23:4 The Association shall indemnify and hold the employer harmless against any and all claims, demands,
suits and other forms of liability, including liability for reasonable counsel fees and other legal costs and
expenses, that may arise out of, or by reason of, any action taken or not taken by the employer in
conformance with this provision.
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ARTICLE 24
Duration of Agreement

24:1 These agreements shall be effective as of July 1, 2016 and shall continue in effect through June 30,
2019, subject to the Association's right to negotiate over a successor Agreement as provided by Chapter
123, Public Laws 1974, State of New Jersey.

24:2 In witness whereof the parties hereto have caused this Agreement to be signed by their respective
presidents, attested by their respective secretaries, and their corporate seals to be placed hereon, all on the
day and year first above written.

24:3 This Agreement shall not be extended orally and it is expressly understood that it shall expire on the
date indicated.

WEST WINDSOR-PLAINSBORO BOARD OF EDUCATION OF WEST
EDUCATION ASSOCIATION WINDSOR-PLAINSBORO
REGIONAL SCHOOL DISTRICT

by by

Vice-President Negotiations President
by Attest:

President by

Altest: Secretary
by

Secretary
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APPENDIX A

1. DEFINITION OF TEACHER

"Teacher" shall include any full-time member of the professional staff, the qualifications for whose office,
position, or employment are such as to require the teacher to hold an appropriate New Jersey Teaching
Certificate in full force or effect.

2. CHANGE IN GUIDE STATUS

Such proof may include transcripts of records, official notification of the completion of degree
requirements, or the degree itself indicating that the requirements have been completed applicable for
placement on the next highest guide. New contracts will be issued, with a corresponding movement to the
appropriate guide at the same level of experience for the following periods: (a) If such proof is submitted
before September 15, a revised contract will be issued retroactive to September 1 for the entire school year;
(b) If such proof is submitted between September 16 and February 15, a revised contract will be issued, on
a pro-rated salary base, effective February 1.

3. WITHHOLDING OF INCREMENT

The salary guide has been constructed so as to recognize professional improvement and competency.
Although normal progress on the guide is the attainment of the next highest step for the subsequent school
year, this progression is not automatic. Movement from one step on the guide to the next step is dependent
upon satisfactory service and the recommendation of the Superintendent of Schools, in addition to
experience. The Board may withhold, for inefficiency or other good cause, the annual increment or
adjustment increment or both.

Increments may be withheld upon a majority vote of the full Board and a written notice to the teacher
giving the reason(s) for the withholding of the increment. Such written notice shall be forwarded to the
teacher within ten (10) days of the Board's action.

4. MILITARY SERVICE CREDIT
Every teacher who has served on active duty in the military forces of the United States of America shall be
entitled to receive equivalent years of employment credit for such service as if the teacher has been
employed for the same period of time in the district. This will apply to Guide A of the longevity guide as of
1989.

a. Such credit will not exceed four (4) years.

b. Credit will be computed to the nearest not to exceed four (4) years.

5. CONTRACTUAL OBLIGATIONS

All contracts are subject to the recommendation of the Superintendent of Schools and the approval of the
Board.

Advancement to any step is dependent upon competency, experience, degree, certification and the
satisfactory fulfillment of the obligations of the teaching profession.

It is the intention of the Board to place any teacher, whose services have been evaluated to be at least
"satisfactory" at the appropriate step in the particular salary guide applicable to training and/or degree.
This intention shall be implemented when contracts for the contractual period covered by the Agreement, of
which the salary guide(s) is a constituent part, are extended to the staff for the subsequent school year.
Failure to place a teacher at the appropriate place on guide shall be governed by paragraph "3" of this
section, WITHHOLDING OF INCREMENT.

References: N.J.S.A. 18A: 6-6 18A: 29-1 through 18A: 29-16 inclusive
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APPENDIX B: Salary Guides

2016-2017
Exp*
0&1

BoovoouorwnN

11
12
13
14
15
16+

Step
0
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8

9
10
11
12
13
14
15

BA
$51,000
$51,530
$52,000
$53,000
$54,000
$55,000
$56,000
$58,000
$60,000
$62,625
$66,750
$70,200
$74,600
$79,850
$85,250
$86,350

MA
$53,000
$53,530
$54,000
$54,950
$56,050
$57,100
$58,150
$60,350
$62,500
$65,250
$70,000
$73,700
$77,500
$82,850
$88,150
$89,240

MA+30
$54,500
$55,030
$55,500
$56,550
$57,650
$58,750
$59,950
$62,250
$64,550
$67,400
$71,520
$75,750
$79,750
$84,900
$90,400
$91,475

*credited years of experience as per contract provisions

2017-2018
Exp*
0
1&2

BA
$51,000
$51,530
$52,000
$54,000
$55,000
$56,000
$57,000
$59,000
$61,000
$63,625
$67,250
$70,800
$74,600
$79,850
$85,250
$87,350

MA
$53,000
$53,530
$54,000
$55,950
$57,050
$58,100
$59,150
$61,350
$63,500
$66,250
$70,500
$74,300
$77,500
$82,850
$88,150
$90,240

MA+30
$54,500
$55,030
$55,500
$57,550
$58,650
$59,750
$60,950
$63,250
$65,550
$68,400
$72,020
$76,350
$79,750
$84,900
$90,400
$92,475

*credited years of experience as per contract provisions

PhD
$56,000
$56,505
$56,975
$58,075
$59,225
$60,375
$61,600
$64,050
$66,550
$70,100
$73,620
$77,950
$81,900
$87,200
$92,550
$93,650

PhD
$56,000
$56,530
$56,975
$59,075
$60,225
$61,375
$62,600
$65,050
$67,550
$71,100
$74,120
$78,550
$81,900
$87,200
$92,550
$94,650
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2018-2019

Exp* Step BA
0&1 0 $54,500
2&3 1 $55,000

4 2 $55,850
5 3 $56,650
6 4 $57,600
7 5 $58,600
8 6 $60,550
9 7 $62,550
10 8 $65,175
11 9 $68250
12 10 $71,800
13 11 $75,600
14 12 $80,000
15 13 $83,600
16 14 $86,400
17+ 15 $88,450

MA
$56,500
$57,000
$57,800
$58,700
$59,700
$60,750
$62,900
$65.050
$67,800
$71,500
$75,300
$78,500
$83,000
$86,550
$89,300
$91,340

MA+30
$58,000
$58,500
$59,400
$60,300
$61,350
$62,550
$64,800
$67,100
$69,950
$73,020
$77,350
$80,750
$85,050
$88,700
$91,550
$93,575

*credited years of experience as per contract provisions

Longevity, Super Maximum:
*Guide A

After 15 years of teaching experience in West Windsor-Plainsboro Regional School District, teachers will
receive the following “Longevity, Super Maximum” amounts, in addition to all other monies due:

*After Fifteen (15) years in district

*Guide B
After 20 years of teaching experience, only 10 of which must be in West Windsor-Plainsboro Regional

School District (for teachers hired on or after July 1, 2013, no teaching experience outside the district will
be credited toward longevity Guide B), teachers will receive the following "Longevity, Super Maximum™

increments, in addition to all other monies due:

*After

*NOTE: Teachers may not appear on both guide A and B at the same time.

20 years, 10 in district
21 years, 10 in district
22 years, 10 in district
23 years, 10 in district
24 years, 10 in district
25 years, 10 in district
26 years, 10 in district
27 years, 10 in district
28 years, 10 in district
29 years, 10 in district
30 years, 10 in district

$5,000.00
$5,100.00
$5,300.00
$5,500.00
$5,700.00
$5,900.00
$6,100.00
$6,300.00
$6,500.00
$6,700.00
$6,900.00

PhD
$59,500
$60,000
$60,925
$61,875
$62,975
$64,200
$66,600
$69,100
$72,650
$75,120
$79,550
$82,900
$87,350
$90,925
$93,700
$95,750

47



Guide Placement
Non-Degree Guide: Shall apply to all teachers who possess certificates and have not been awarded
Bachelor Degrees.

Guide A (BA GUIDE): Shall apply to all teachers who possess certificates and who are graduates of
approved colleges and normal schools.

Guide B (MA GUIDE): Shall apply to all teachers who possess certificates and a Master's Degree.

Guide C (MA+30 GUIDE): Shall apply to all teachers who possess certificates who have been awarded a
Master's Degree and have successfully earned thirty (30) approved graduate credits beyond Master's
Degree.

Guide D (PHD GUIDE): Shall apply to all teachers who possess certificates and who have a Doctor's
Degree

B.A. + 30 Grandfather Clause - Teachers employed in the district prior to February 1, 1975, who have
successfully completed thirty (30) approved graduate credit hours beyond their Bachelor's Degree, prior to
that date, shall receive an additional three hundred dollars ($300).

Break in Service — For teachers who return to work in the West Windsor-Plainsboro Regional School
District after a resignation or non-renewal with a break in service of more than one school year, prior
service with the West Windsor-Plainsboro Regional School District will not count towards in-district credit
for longevity. However, teachers who resigned and returned to the district before January 1, 1999 shall have
all years of service count towards in-district credit for longevity.
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APPENDIX C: Index Ratio System for Paid Extra-Curricular Positions

Pay for extra-curricular positions shall be determined by an index ratio multiplied by:
2016-2017: $49,319
2017-2018 and 2018-2019: $50,305

The index ratio shall be the sum of four factors:
Factor A - Number of Students
Factor B - Number of Extra-Curricular Hours
Factor C - Time of Activity
Factor D - Supervisory Responsibilities;
which sum shall then be multiplied by the fifth factor:
Factor E — Experience.

Factor A - Number of Students

The numerical value of this factor shall be determined from Table A. The standard shall be the number of
students who, in the judgment of the WWPEA Negotiating Committee and the Board of Education, would
typically be involved in the activity.

Factor B - Number of Extra-Curricular Hours

The numerical value of this factor shall be determined from Table B. The standard shall be the number of
hours that in the judgment of the WWPEA Negotiating Committee and the Board of Education are needed
to satisfactorily carry out the assignment.

Factor C - Time of Activity
The numerical value of this factor shall be determined from Table C. The standard shall be determined by
the WWPEA Negotiation Committee and the Board of Education.

Factor D - Supervisory Responsibilities

The numerical value of this factor shall be determined by Table D. The standard shall be determined by the
WWPEA Negotiating Committee and the Board of Education. Consideration shall be given to both the
number of professional staff requiring supervision and the kind of supervision required.

Factor E - Experience

The numerical value of this factor shall be determined by Table E. The standard shall be determined by the
number of years experience an individual has in that activity in the West Windsor-Plainsboro School
District. Experience as an assistant will be counted when a person moves to the head of any activity in the
amount of one (1) year for every two (2) years of service to a maximum of five (5) years. Assistant
coaching positions in the same sport are considered equal. Moving from one position to another is
considered a lateral move on the experience guide.

TABLE A: Number of Students

Students Factor
1-25 .005
26 - 50 .010
51-75 .015

Above 75 .020
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TABLE B: Number of Extra-Curricular Hours
Hours Factor
10 - 30 .005
31-50 .010
51-100 .020
101-150 .035
151 -200 .040
201 -250 .050
251 -300 .060
301-350 .070
351-400 .080
401 -450 .090
Above 451 .100

TABLE C: Time of Activity

*Time Factor
During School .000
After School .005
Evening and After School 015
After School and Weekends .025

* Consideration shall be given to the time when most of the activity is carried out.

TABLE D: Supervisory Responsibilities
Number of Professional Staff

Responsible for Supervising Factor
0 .000
1-2 .010
3-4 .020
Above 5 .030

TABLE E: Experience

Years Factor
0-2 1.00
3-4 1.05
5-6 1.10
7-8 1.15
9-10 1.20
Above 10 1.25



APPENDIX D: NON-ATHLETIC EXTRA-CURRICULAR ACTIVITIES: High School

Name of Number of Time of Supv.

Activity Students Hours Activity Resp. Ratio

A Cappella .005 .035 .005 0 .045
1-25 101-150 AS

Academic Decathlon .010 .050 .025 0 .085
26-50 201-250 AS/W

African American .005 .010 .005 0 .020

Awareness Club 1-25 31-50 AS

American Field .010 .035 .025 0 .070

Service Advisor 26-50 101-150 AS/W

Art Club .010 .035 005 0 .050

Advisor 26-50 101-150 AS

Amnesty International .005 .005 .005 0 .015
0-25 10-30 AS/W

Animal Rights .005 .005 .005 0 .015
0-25 10-30 AS/W

Asian Culture .005 .010 .005 0 .020

Club 1-25 31-50 AS

AUK Literary .005 .010 .005 0 .020

Magazine 1-25 31-50 AS

Chess Club .005 .005 .005 0 .015
1-25 10-30 AS

Chinese Club .010 .010 .005 0 .025
26-50 31-50 AS

Class Advisor .020 .020 .015 0 .055

9th Grade 75+ 51-100 E/AS

Class Advisor .020 .020 .015 0 .055

10th Grade 75+ 51-100 E/AS

Class Advisor .020 .040 .015 0 .075

11th Grade 75+ 151-200 E/AS

Class Advisor .020 .050 .025 0 .095



12th Grade

Co-ed Club

Computer Club 1

Dance Team

Debate League

Advisor

Debate League
Assistant

Drama Director
Fall Play

Drama, Asst. Dir.
Fall Play

Drama, Producer
Fall Play

Drama, Director
One Act Play

Drama, One Act Play

Assistant
Drama Director
Spring Musical

Drama, Asst. Dir.
Spring Musical

Drama, Asst.
Musical, Instr.

Drama, Asst.

Musical,2,(costumes&

choreography)

Drama, Producer
Spring Musical

75+

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

015
51-75

.015
51-75

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

.005
1-25
.020
75+

.020
75+

.005
1-25

.010
26-50

.005
1-25

201-250

.005
10-30

.020
51-100

.035
101-150

.020
51-100

.010
31-50

.040
151-200

.035
101-150

.020
51-100

.040
151-200

.020
51-100
.070
301-350

.040
151-200

.035
101-150

.040
151-200

.020
51-100

AS/W

.005
AS

.005
AS

.015
EV/AS

.005
AS

.005
AS

015
EV/AS

.005
AS

.005
AS

015
EV/AS

015
EV/AS
025
AS/W

015
EV/AS

015
EV/AS

015
EVIAS

.005
AS

.010
1-2

.010
1-2

.010
1-2

.015

.030

.055

.040

.030

.070

.045

.030

.070

.040

125

075

.055

.065

.030
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Eighth Grade
Connection
Environmental Club
Film Analysis

First Edition
French Club

Future Business
Leaders of America
Future Educators
Gay — Straight
Student Alliance

German Club

Head Teacher

(no supervision period)

Humanities

Hispanic Club

Human Relations
Coordinators

Human Relations
Ass’t. Coordinator

Interact

Junior Achievement

.010
26-50

.010
26-50

.010
26-50

.005
1-25

.010
26-50

.010
26-50

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

$1392 for 2016-2017

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

015
51-75

.015
51-75

.010
26-50

.005
1-25

.020
51-100 AS

.010
31-50

.010
31-50

.035
101-150

.010
31-50

.040
151-200

.005
10-30

.005
10-30

.010
31-50

.010
31-50

.010
31-50

.035
101-150

.035
101-150

.010
31-50

.005
10-30

.005 0
.005 0
AS

.005 0
AS

.005 0
AS

.005 0
AS

.025 0
AS/W

.005 0
AS

.005 0
AS

.005 0
AS

.005 0
AS

.005 0
AS/W

025 .010
AS/W 1-2
025 0
AS/W

025 0
AS/W

.015 0
EV/AS

.035

025

025

.045

025

075

015

015

.020

$1420 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

.020

.020

.085

075

.045

025
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Junior Statesmen
of America

Junior Classical
League

Kids for Kids
Lighting
Booth

Literary
Magazine

Marching Band
Director

Marching Band
Asst. Director

Marching Band

Color Guard Advisor

Marching Band
Color Guard Asst.

Marching Band
Drill Instructor

Math League
Advisor

Math League
Advisor, Asst.

Model Congress
Model United
Nations Advisor

Model United
Nations, Asst.

National Art Honor
Society Advisor

.020
75+

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

.020
75+

.010
26-50

.010
26-50

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

.010
26-50

.010
26-50

.010
26-50

.020
75+

.005
1-25

.010
26-50

.035
01-150

.005
10-30

.020
51-100

.035
101-150

.020
51-100

.080
351-400

.050
201-250

.080
351-400

.020
51-100

.005
10-30

.035
101-150

.020
51-100

.010
31-50

.010
31-50

.010
31-50

.035
101-150

025
AS/W

.005
AS

.005
AS

.015
EV/AS

.005
AS

.025
AS/W

025
AS/W

025
AS/W

025
AS/W

015
EV/AS

.005
AS

.005
AS

015
EV/AS

025
AS/W

015
EV/AS

.005
AS/W

.010
1-2

.010
1-2

.010
1-2

.080

.015

.030

.055

.030

135

.085

115

.050

025

.055

.035

.045

.065

.030

.05
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National Honor
Society

Newsletter

Newspaper
Advisor

Newspaper
Advisor, Asst.

Olympics of the
Mind (9-12)

One Act Play
Director

One Act Play
Assistant

Opening Knights

Outdoor Adventure

Partners Club

Peer Counseling

Percussion
Instructor

Philosophy Club

Photography Club

Pirate Players
Director

Pirate Players
Ass’t. Director

.010
26-50

.010
31-50

$3812 for 2016-2017

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

.020
75+

.020
75+

.005
1-25

.010
26-50

.005
1-25

.070
301-350

.060
251-300

.035
101-150

.040
151-200

.020
51-100

.040
151-200

.020
51-100

.020
51-100

$1988 for 2016-2017

.005
1-25

.010
26-50

.005
1-25

015
51-75

.015
51-75

.020
51-100

.010
31-50

.040
151-200

.070
301-350

.040
151-200

.005
AS

.015
AS/E

.005
AS

.005
AS

015
AS/W

015
AS/W

.005
AS

.025
AS/W

.005
AS

025
AS/W

.005
AS

.005
AS

025
AS/W

.005
AS

.010
1-2

0

0

.010
1-2

025

$3888 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

.100

.070

.045

.085

.055

.050

.055

.030

$2028 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

.050

025

.050

120

.060
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Project Adventure
Club

Radio Station
Reach Out

Red Cross Club
Robotics Club
Science Club
Science Club
Assistant

Science Olympiad
Science Olympiad

Assistant

Science Chemical

Inventory Technician

South Asian American

Student Association
Spanish Club
S.P.E.AK.
Advisors (5)

Stage Band

Stage Crafts

All Productions

S.AD.D.

.005
1-25

.010
26-50

.005
1-25

.020
75+

.010
26-50

.010
26-50

.010
26-50

.010
26-50

.010
26-50

$2134 for 2016-2017

.005
1-25

.010
26-50

.005
1-25

.010
26-50

.010
26-50

.005
1-25

.020 .005
51-100 AS
.080 025
351-400 E/AS/W
.005 .015
10-30 EV/AS
035 015
101-150 AS/E
.050 025
201-250 AS/W
.035 025
101-150 AS/W
.020 .025
51-100 AS/W

.040 025

151-200 AS/W

.040 .025
151-200 AS/W

.020 .005
51-100 AS
.010 .005
31-50 AS
.005 .005
10-30 AS
.010 025
31-50 AS/W
.070 025
301-350 AS/W
.005 .005
10-30 AS

0 .030
0 115
0 .025
0 .070
@) .085
.010 .080
1-2

0 .055
.010 .085
1-2

0 075

$2177 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

0 .030
0 025
0 015
0 .045
0 105
0 015
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String Quartet
Advisor

Student Activities
Director

Student Council
Advisor 9-12

Student Council
Advisor, Asst.

Ultimate Frisbee

.005
1-25

.020
75+

.020
75+

.020
75+

.005
1-25

.035
101-150

100
451+

.060
251-300

.040
151-200

.020
51-100

Unity Day Coordinator $377 for 2016-2017

Waksman Scientific

Research Club

Washington
Seminar, Director

Washington

Seminar, Coordinator

Washington

Seminar, Chaperone

Winter Guard

Women of Windsor

Yearbook
Advisor

Yearbook
Advisor, Asst.

.010
26-50

.040
151-200

$6495 for 2016-2017

$1843 for 2016-2017

$617 for 2016-2017

.010
26-50

.010
26-50

.010
26-50

.005
1-25

.050
201-250

.010
31-50

.070
301-350

.060
251-300

.005
AS

025
AS/W

.025
AS/W

025
AS/W

025
AS/W

0

.030

5+

.010
1-2

.045

175

115

.085

.050

$385 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

015
AS/E

@)

.065

$6625 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$1880 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

025
AS/W

.005
AS

025
AS/W

.005
AS

$629 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

.085

025

115

.070
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APPENDIX E: NON-ATHLETIC EXTRA-CURRICULAR ACTIVITIES Middle School and
Elementary School (Activities are Middle School unless noted.)

Name of Number of Time of Supv.

Activity Students Hours Activity Resp. Ratio

Choir (7) .010 .020 .005 0 .035
26-50 51-100 AS

Choir (8) .010 .020 .005 0 .035
26-50 51-100 AS

Conflict Resolution  .005 .020 .005 0 .030
1-25 51-100 AS

Drama Director .005 .040 .005 .010 .060
1-25 151-200 AS 1-2

Drama, Asst. .005 .035 .005 0 .045

Director (2) 1-25 101-150 AS

Eighth Grade .005 .020 .005 0 .030

Connection 1-25 51-100 AS

Elementary

Instrumental

Group (Gr. 4-5) . 005 .020 015 0 .040
1-25 51-100 AS/E

Elementary

Performing

Band (Gr. 4-5) .005 .020 .015 0 .040
1-25 51-100 AS/E

End of Year Video .005 .060 .005 0 .070
1-25 251-300 AS

Explorer Club .005 .020 .025 0 .050
1-25 51-100 AS/W

Head Teacher $1392 for 2016-2017  $1420 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

(no supervision period)

Lighting Booth .005 .020 .005 0 .030
1-25 51-100 AS
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Literary Magazine
Co-advisors (2)

Math Counts
Math League
Advisor

Memory Book
Advisor

Memory Book
Advisor, Asst. (2)

Orchestra
Outdoor Ed. Coord
(4 camps)

Outdoor Ed.
Teacher

Outdoor Ed.
Homebase

Play Publicity

School Store

Science Olympiad

Science Olympiad
Assistant

Special Olympics
Co-advisors (3)

Stage Band

Stage Crafts
Co-advisors (2)

.005
1-25

. 005
1-25

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

.020
51-100

035
101-150

.035
101-150

.080
351-400

.070
301-350

.020
51-100

$5571 for 2016-2017

$533 for 2016-2017

$270 for 2016-2017

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

.010
26-50

.010
26-50

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

.020
51-100

.040
151-200

.040
151-200

.020
51-100

.020
51-100

.020
51-100

.035
101-150

.005
AS

025
AS/W

.005
AS

.005
AS

.005
AS

015
AS/E

.005
AS

015
AS/E

025
AS/W

025
AS/W

.005
AS

015
AS/E

.005
AS

.010
1-2

0

.010
1-2

.030

.065

.045

100

.080

.040

$5683 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$544 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$275 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

.030

.060

.085

.055

.030

.040

.045
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Stage Crew

.005
1-25

Standard Club Advisor .005

Students Activities

Director

Student Council
Advisor(2)

Student Council
Advisor, Asst.

Student Council
Advisor

TV Production
Club

1-25

.020
75+

.015
51-75

015
51-75

.005
1-25

.005
1-25

.020
51-100

.020
51-100

100
451+

.035
101-150

.020
51-100

.020
51-100

.035
101-150

015
AS/E

.005
AS

.005
AS

.015
AS/E

015
AS/E

.005
AS

.005
AS

0

.030
5+

.040

.030

155

.065

.050

.030

.045
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APPENDIX F: NON-ATHLETIC CURRICULAR ACTIVITIES: Elementary (K-5) Schools

Character Education Coordinator (Gr.K-5)

Computer Enrichment Program (Gr. 4-5)

Coordinator
Elementary Reading/L.A. (Gr.K-5)

Coordinator
Elementary Science (Gr.K-5)

Elementary Instrumental Group (Gr. 4-5)
Elementary Performing Band (Gr. 4-5)
Evening Event Coordinator

Grade Level Leader (Gr. K-5)
Subj. Teachers 1-4

5-8

9-12

13-16
Invent America Science Program (Gr. 4-5)
Literary Magazine (Gr. K-3)
Magazine/Newspaper Advisor (Gr. 4-5)
Math Club (Gr. K-3)
Math League Advisor (Gr 4-5)
Media Coordinator (Gr. K-3)
Reading Club (Gr. K-3)
Safety Patrol (Gr. K-3)
School Day Event Coordinator (Gr. K-3)
Science Fair Advisor (Gr. 4-5)

Student Activities Coordinator (Gr. K-3)

$630 for 2016-17

$1216 for 2016-17

$1688 for 2016-17

$1688 for 2016-17

(see page 58)
(see page 58)

$630 for 2016-17

$1520 for 2016-17
$1859 for 2016-17
$2195 for 2016-17
$2535 for 2016-17

$1216 for 2016-17
$630 for 2016-17

$1216 for 2016-17
$1009 for 2016-17
$1225 for 2016-17
$1688 for 2016-17
$1009 for 2016-17
$505 for 2016-17

$377 for 2016-17

$1225 for 2016-17

$1688 for 2016-17

Student Human Relations Council Advisor (Gr. 4-5) $1216 for 2016-17

$643 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$1240. for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$1722 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$1722 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$643 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$1550 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
$1897 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
$2239 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
$2585 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$1240. for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$643 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$1240. for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$1029 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$1250 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$1722 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$1029 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$515 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$385 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$1250 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$1722 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

$1240 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
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APPENDIX G: NON-ATHLETIC POSITIONS: Miscellaneous

Bus Duty $15.84/hr.
Saturday Detention $51.42/hr.
Supervision, After-School & Detention, Computer $19.48/hr.
Class Coverage™ (per period) $32.13

* Compensation for class coverage will be paid to any teacher reassigned from a non-teaching assignment
to cover a class. The foregoing rate will apply to a period not to exceed 49 minutes. A teacher who covers
a class in excess of 49 minutes in length will receive a 20% increase, above the standard rate, for every
additional ten (10) minutes of instructional coverage, beginning with 50 minutes.

[Examples: up to 49 minute period = $32.13; 50 — 59 minute period (20% increase) = $38.56; 60-69
minute period (40% increase) = $44.98; etc.] Teachers will not be compensated if reassigned from one
duty to another, including study hall.

Chaperone — High School event $63.68 for 2016-17; $64.95 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
Chaperone — Middle School event $50.93 for 2016-17; $51.95 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
Coordinator, Art K-12 $1655 for 2016-17; $1688 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
Coordinator, ESL District $1655 for 2016-17; $1688 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
Coordinator, Human Relations, $1655 for 2016-17; $1688 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
District (2)

Coordinator, Indoor Air Quality $1623 for 2016-17; $1655 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
Coordinator, Library Services, District ~ $1655 for 2016-17; $1688 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
Coordinator, Music K-12 $1655 for 2016-17; $1688 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

Coordinator, Physical Education K-8 $1655 for 2016-17; $1688 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

Coordinator, School Nurses & Health $2485 for 2016-17; $2534 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
Services

Head Coach, Special Olympics (3) $2152 for 2016-17; $2195 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
Lead Guidance Counselor (addition to salary)
$6558 for 2016-17; $6689 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

Lesson Planner Trainer (K-5) $1655 for 2016-17; $1688 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
Coordinators, Special Olympics (3) $1655 for 2016-17; $1688 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
Coordinator, Speech Therapists $1655 for 2016-17; $1688 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
Human Relations Program Leaders (7)  $1655 for 2016-17; $1688 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
Lunch Duty $1949 for 2016-17; $1988 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
Pool supervisor $975 for 2016-17; $995 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
Proctor PSAT — Standard Time $84.40 for 2016-17; $86.09 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
Proctor PSAT — Extended Time $130.94 for 2016-17; $133.56 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
Unified Bowling (2) $1020 for 2016-17; $1040 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019
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APPENDIX H: Athletic Position Guide for School Year 2016-2017

Years of Experience

Category Position ‘ 0to2 l 3to4 l 510 6 | 7108 | 9to 10 Above 10

A Head Coach $8,138 $8,545 $8,952 $9,359 $9,765 $10,173
Asst. Coach $4,932 $5,179 $5,424 $5,671 $5,918 $6,165
B Head Coach $7,892 $8,285 $8,681 $9,075 $9,470 $9,864
Asst. Coach $4,932 $5,179 $5,424 $5,671 $5,918 $6,165
C Head Coach $5,918 $6,213 $6,510 $6,805 $7,102 $7,397
Asst. Coach $3,945 $4,143 $4,339 $4,537 $4,734 $4,932
D Head Coach $5,671 $5,955 $6,238 $6,522 $6,805 $7,089
Asst. Coach $3,945 $4,143 $4,339 $4,537 $4,734 $4,932
E Head Coach $5,424 $5,697 $5,966 $6,238 $6,510 $6,781
Asst. Coach $3,452 $3,625 $3,797 $3,970 $4,143 $4,316
F Head Coach $4,685 $4,919 $5,153 $5,388 $5,622 $5,857
Asst. Coach $3,452 $3,625 $3,797 $3,970 $4,143 $4,316

G| HeadCoach | $3699 | $3884 | $4069 | $4253 | $4438 | $4624 |

H Athletic
Coordinator
High School $4,932 $5,179 $5,424 $5,671 $5,918 $6,165
Middle School $3,945 $4,143 $4,339 $4,537 $4,734 $4,932
| MS Coach,

Intra.Adv. $2,959 $3,107 $3,256 $3,403 $3,551 $3,699

J  Athletic Trainer

Fall Season $4,932 $5,179 $5,424 $5,671 $5,918 $6,165
Winter Season $5,918 $6,213 $6,510 $6,805 $7,102 $7,397
Spring Season $3,945 $4,143 $4,339 $4,537 $4,734 $4,932
Category A Football
Category B Basketball- Boys, Basketball — Girls, Swimming
Category C Baseball, Field Hockey, Lacrosse-Boys, Lacrosse-Girls, Soccer-Boys, Soccer-Girls, Softball, Track-Boys,
Track-Girls, Volleyball-Boys, Volleyball-Girls, Wresting
Category D Cross Country-Boys, Cross Country-Girls, Ice Hockey, Indoor Track
Category E Diving*, Fencing, Tennis
Category F Cheerleading-Fall, Cheerleading-Winter
Category G Golf-Boys, Golf-Girls
Category H Athletic Coordinator [paid for each sports season (fall, winter, spring)]
Category | Middle School Coach, Intramural Advisor
Category J Athletic Trainers (stipend added to salary, teach one class, not assigned duty period)

*Diving stipend is for 1 coach for both high school teams provided the teams practice and compete at the same time.
A staff member who serves as an NJSTAA Independent Athletic Chaperone “Coach” shall receive $70 per meet attended.

The categories represent positions with comparable coaching responsibilities taking into consideration the number of student
participants, the time commitment, and the scheduling of games (e.g. frequency of night and weekend games).

After the beginning of the spring season in the last year of the term of the agreement, the WWPEA and the Board will review the
placement of positions into the categories to assess whether any changes should be made.
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Athletic Position Guide for School Years 2017-2018 and 2018-2019

Category Position ‘ 0to2 ‘ 3to4 ‘ 5t06 ‘ 7t08 ‘ 910 10 Above 10
A Head Coach $8,301 $8,716 $9,131 $9,546 $9,960 $10,376
Asst. Coach $5,031 $5,283 $5,532 $5,784 $6,036 $6,288
B Head Coach $8,050 $8,451 $8,855 $9,257 $9,659 $10,061
Asst. Coach $5,031 $5,283 $5,532 $5,784 $6,036 $6,288
c Head Coach $6,036 $6,337 $6,640 $6,941 $7,244 $7,545
Asst. Coach $4.024 $4,226 $4,426 $4,628 $4,829 $5,031
D Head Coach $5,784 $6,074 $6,363 $6,652 $6,941 $7,231
Asst. Coach $4,024 $4,226 $4,426 $4,628 $4.829 $5,031
E | Head Coach $5,532 $5,811 $6,085 $6,363 $6,640 $6,917
Asst. Coach $3,521 $3,698 $3,873 $4,049 $4,226 $4,402
F Head Coach $4,779 $5,017 $5,256 $5,496 $5,734 $5,974
Asst. Coach $3,521 $3,698 $3,873 $4,049 $4.226 $4,402
G| HeadCoach [ $3773 | $3962 | $4150 | $4338 | $4527 |  $4,716
H Athletic
Coordinator
High School $5,031 $5,283 $5,532 $5,784 $6,036 $6,288
Middle School $4,024 $4,226 $4,426 $4,628 $4,829 $5,031
| MS Coach,
Intra.Adv. $3,018 $3,169 $3,321 $3,471 $3,622 $3,773

J  Athletic Trainers

Fall Season $5,031 $5,283 $5,532 $5,784 $6,036 $6,288

Winter Season $6,036 $6,337 $6,640 $6,941 $7,244 $7,545
Spring Season $4,024 $4,226 $4,426 $4,628 $4,829 $5,031

Category A Football

Category B Basketball- Boys, Basketball — Girls, Swimming

Category C Baseball, Field Hockey, Lacrosse-Boys, Lacrosse-Girls, Soccer-Boys, Soccer-Girls, Softball, Track-Boys,

Track-Girls, Volleyball-Boys, Volleyball-Girls, Wresting

Category D Cross Country-Boys, Cross Country-Girls, Ice Hockey, Indoor Track

Category E Diving*, Fencing, Tennis

Category F Cheerleading-Fall, Cheerleading-Winter

Category G Golf-Boys, Golf-Girls

Category H Athletic Coordinator [paid for each sports season (fall, winter, spring)]

Category | Middle School Coach, Intramural Advisor

Category J Athletic Trainers (stipend added to salary, teach one class, not assigned duty period)

*Diving stipend is for 1 coach for both high school teams provided the teams practice and compete at the same time.
A staff member who serves as an NJSIAA Independent Athletic Chaperone “Coach” shall receive $70 per meet attended.

The categories represent positions with comparable coaching responsibilities taking into consideration the number of student
participants, the time commitment, and the scheduling of games (e.g. frequency of night and weekend games).

After the beginning of the spring season in the last year of the term of the agreement, the WWPEA and the Board will review the
placement of positions into the categories to assess whether any changes should be made.
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